

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

23 FEB 28 P5:39

SENATE

)

)

)

P. S. Res. No. 511



Introduced by Senator Loren B. Legarda

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE 2022 GALING POOK AWARDEES FOR BEING HONORED BY THE GALING POOK FOUNDATION, CO-PRESENTED BY SM PRIME HOLDINGS INC. AND DILG-LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACADEMY, AND SPONSORED BY CEBU PACIFIC AND AIRSPEED, ON 22 NOVEMBER 2022 AT THE MALACAÑANG PALACE

WHEREAS, the Galing Pook Awards is a yearly search held by the Galing Pook Foundation which recognizes and honors outstanding initiatives and innovative local governance programs all over the Philippines in order to promote innovation and excellence among local government units;

WHEREAS, the 2022 Galing Pook Awards was celebrated with the theme of 'Padayon para sa Ligtas, Matalino at Matatag na Pamayanan';

WHEREAS, the Galing Pook Foundation with SM Prime Holdings Inc., and the DILG-Local Government Academy, and with their sponsors, Cebu Pacific and Airspeed, named ten (10) outstanding local governance programs at the Ceremonial Hall of Malacañang Palace last 22 November 2022, namely:

- 1. The Green Wall of Alcala (Alcala, Cagayan);
- 2. Advancing and Sustaining Good Governance and Community Actions towards Resiliency and Empowerment (Basilan Province);
- 3. Bataan Public-Private Partnership Programs (Bataan Province);
- 4. Balik-Biñan Project: Tourism Development through Heritage Conservation (Biñan City, Laguna);

5. From Black to Green: Fishponds, Eco-Tourism and Full Employment (Brgy. Cayabu, Tanay, Rizal);

.

- 6. Trekking to Unlock Community Ailments and Difficulties (TUCAD) (Goa, Camarines Sur);
- 7. "I-BIKE" A Program Promoting the Development of the Iloilo City Bike Culture (Iloilo City);
- 8. Yaru: A Whole-of-Community Approach Towards Disaster Management (Itbayat, Batanes);
- 9. Libertad Fish Forever Savings Club (Libertad, Antique);
- 10. Basta Piddigueño, AgriHenyo: Consolidated Farm Production System (Piddig, Ilocos Norte).

WHEREAS, the awardees were chosen from eighteen (18) finalists that were selected out of one hundred and ninety-six (196) applications from different LGUs in the country;

WHEREAS, the 2022 Galing Pook awardees were evaluated through a rigorous multi-level screening process based on positive results and impact, promotion of people's participation and empowerment, innovation and adaptation, resilience, sustainability, and efficiency of program service delivery and transferability;

WHEREAS, prior to the 2022 awardees, the Galing Pook Awards has already recognized three hundred twenty-nine (329) LGU programs from two hundred (200) LGUs in the country since its launch on 21 October 1993;

WHEREAS, the 2022 Galing Pook Awards' Board of Judges is chaired by DILG Secretary Benhur Abalos and is composed of Rico Hizon, Dr. Chito Salazar, Vice Admiral Alexander Pama (Ret), former governor Miguel Dominguez, Tina Monzon-Palma, former Secretary Elisea Gozun, former Secretary Leonardo Montemayor, and Fe Villamejor-Mendoza;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines joins the Galing Pook Foundation in recognizing that these awardees have become advocates for inspiring innovative and excellent programs which local government units can replicate in their respective localities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and commend the 2022 Galing Pook awardees for being honored by the Galing Pook Foundation, copresented by SM Prime Holdings Inc, and DILG-Local Government Academy, and sponsored by Cebu Pacific and Airspeed, on 22 November 2022 at the Malacañang Palace.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA