NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE	)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES	)
First Regular Session	)



23 MAY 18 P3:53

SENATE S. No. 2215 4/\_\_\_\_

# Introduced by Senator Robinhood Padilla

### AN ACT

AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1083, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CODE OF MUSLIM PERSONAL LAWS OF THE PHILIPPINES", AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

Section 17, Article XIV of the 1987 Constitution provides that the State shall recognize, respect, and protect the rights of indigenous cultural communities to preserve and develop their cultures, traditions, and institutions.

On 4 February 1977, President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed Presidential Decree (P.D.) No. 1083, otherwise known as the Code of Muslim Personal Laws, which aims to recognize the legal system of the Muslims in the Philippines as part of the law of the land and seeks to make Islamic institutions more effective, codify Muslim Personal laws, and provide for an effective administration and enforcement of Muslim personal law among Muslims.

While P.D. No. 1083 establishes the creation of Shari'a courts, the growing number of Muslim Filipinos and the increasing rate of migration around the country calls for the need to establish additional judicial districts to attend to and resolve disputes involving Muslim personal laws.

In fact, the 2020 Census of Population and Housing conducted by the Philippine Statistics Authority reveals that Muslim Filipinos now reside in various parts of the country. Of the total population of Muslim Filipinos, 64.3% reside in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), 10.1% in Region IX (Zamboanga Peninsula), 9.8% in Region XI (SOCCSKSARGEN), 6.1% in Region X (Northern

Mindanao), and 2.8% in Region XI (Davao Region). Outside of Mindanao, 6.4% of Muslim Filipinos reside in Luzon, with 2.5% in the National Capital Region (NCR), while 0.5% are in Visayas. As Muslim Filipinos continue to relocate across the country in search of better opportunities, the distribution of their population is expected to increase significantly in the coming years.

This measure, therefore, aims to provide Muslim Filipinos residing outside of existing Shari'a Judicial Districts with accessible, equitable, and speedy justice. Specifically, this aims to establish additional Shari'a Judicial Districts, stations for the district courts, and circuit courts. This is to ensure that our Muslim brothers and sisters across the archipelago will have better access to the specialized knowledge and expertise of Shari'a judges, promoting fair and equal treatment of Muslims under the law, regardless of their geographic location.

In view of the foregoing, the immediate passage of this bill is earnestly sought.

ROBINHOOD PADILLA

Senator



NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE	)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES	)
First Regular Session	)

23 MAY 18 P3:53

SENATE

S. No. <u>221</u>5



# Introduced by Senator Robinhood Padilla

## **AN ACT**

# AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1083, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CODE OF MUSLIM PERSONAL LAWS OF THE PHILIPPINES", AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

1	Section 1. Article 138 of Presidential Decree No. 1083 is hereby amended as
2	follows:
3	Article 138. Shari'a judicial districts. — [Five] EIGHT special judicial
4	districts, each to have one Shari'a District Court presided over by one
5	judge, are constituted as follows:
6	(a) The First Shari'a District shall comprise the Province of Sulu;
7	(b) The Second Shari'a District, the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
8	(c) The Third Shari'a District, the Province of Basilan, Zamboanga
9	del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog,
10	Pagadian and Zamboanga;
11	(d) The Fourth Shari'a District, the provinces of Lanao del Norte
12	and Lanao del Sur, and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi; [and]
13	(e) The Fifth Shari'a District, the Provinces of Maguindanao,
14	North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat, and the City of
15	Cotabato[-];
16	(f) THE SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE PROVINCES OF
17	BUKIDNON, MISAMIS ORIENTAL, MISAMIS

1	OCCIDENTAL, CAMIGUIN, THE CITY OF CAGAYAN DE	
2	ORO, AND THE PROVINCES WITHIN REGIONS XI AND	
3	XIII;	
4	(g) THE SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE PROVINCES	
5	WITHIN REGIONS VI, VII, VIII AND MIMAROPA; AND	
6	(h) THE EIGHTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE PROVINCES	
7	WITHIN NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION, CORDILLERA	
8	ADMINISTRATIVE REGION, REGIONS I, II, III, IV-A,	
9	AND V.	
10	Sec. 2. Article 147 of Presidential Decree No. 1083 is hereby amended as	
11	follows:	
12	Article 147. Permanent stations; offices. — (1) The Shari'a District	
13	Courts shall have their respective permanent stations in the following	
14	places:	
15	(a) First Shari'a District, Jolo, Sulu;	
16	(b) Second Shari'a District, Bongao, Tawi-Tawi;	
17	(c) Third Shari'a District, Zamboanga City;	
18	(d) Fourth Shari'a District, Marawi City;	
19	(e) Fifth Shari'a District, Cotabato City;	
20	(f) SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, DAVAO CITY;	
21	(g) SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, CEBU CITY; AND	
22	(h) EIGHTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, MANILA CITY.	
23	(2) The Shari'a District Courts may hold sessions anywhere within	
24	their respective districts.	
25	(3) The provinces, cities or municipalities concerned shall provide	
26	such courts with adequate court office, supplies and equipment in	
27	accordance with the provisions of the Judiciary Law.	
28	Sec. 3. Article 150 of Presidential Decree No. 1083 is hereby amended as	
29	follows:	
30	Article 150. Where established. — (1) Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be	
31	established as follows:	
32	(a) Six such courts in the Province of Sulu;	

1	(D)	Eight in the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
2	(c)	Ten in and for the Provinces of Basilan, Zamboanga del
3		Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog,
4		Pagadian, and Zamboanga;
5	(d)	Twelve in and for the Provinces of Lanao del Norte and
6		Lanao del Sur and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi;
7	(e)	Fifteen in and for the Province of Maguindanao, North
8		Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat and the City of Cotabato[-];
9	<b>(f)</b>	FIVE IN AND FOR THE PROVINCES OF BUKIDNON,
10		MISAMIS ORIENTAL, MISAMIS OCCIDENTAL,
11		CAMIGUIN, THE CITY OF CAGAYAN DE ORO, AND
12		THE PROVINCES WITHIN REGIONS XI AND XIII;
13	(g)	TWO IN AND FOR THE PROVINCES WITHIN
14		REGIONS VI, VIII, VIII AND MIMAROPA;
15	(h)	FOUR IN AND FOR THE PROVINCES WITHIN
16		NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION, CORDILLERA
17		ADMINISTRATIVE REGION, REGIONS I, II, III, IV-
18		A, AND V.
19	(2) The	territorial jurisdiction of each of the Shari'a Circuit Courts
20	shall be fixe	ed by the Supreme Court on the basis of the geographical
21	contiguity o	f the municipalities and cities concerned and their Muslim
22	population.	
23	Sec. 4. Approp	priations. — The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall
24	immediately include in	the Court's program the implementation of this Act. The funds
25	necessary for the ope	eration of the courts herein created shall be appropriated and
26	released only upon th	e actual organization of the courts and the appointment of its
27	personnel.	
28	•	bility Clause. — If any portion or provision of this Act is declared
29	unconstitutional, the remainder of this Act or any provisions not affected thereby sha	
30	remain in force and effect.	

- Sec. 6. *Repealing Clause.* Any law, presidential decree or issuance, executive order, letter of instruction, rule or regulation inconsistent with the provisions of this Act is hereby repealed or modified accordingly.
- Sec. 7. *Effectivity Clause.* This Act shall take effect after fifteen (15) days following its complete publication in the Official Gazette or a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,