

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES *First Regular Session*

23 MAY 23 P3:25

RECEIVED BY

SENATE

)

)

)

P.S. Res. No. <u>634</u>

Introduced by SENATOR SONNY ANGARA

RESOLUTION

COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PHILIPPINE NATIONAL ARNIS TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE DURING THE 32ND SOUTHEAST ASIAN (SEA) GAMES HELD IN CAMBODIA

1	WHEREAS, during the 32 nd South East Asian Games in Phnom Penh, Cambodia,
2	the Philippines ranked 5th overall with a total of 260 podium finishes (58 gold medals,
3	85 silver medals, and 117 bronze medals), surpassing the 52 gold medals garnered
4	during the 2021 SEA Games in Hanoi, Vietnam;
5	WHEREAS, the Philippine National Arnis Team delivered an outstanding
6	performance against formidable opponents who competed in the arnis events, with
7	the team having impressively garnered six (6) gold medals – two (2) silver medals –
8	and four (4) bronze medals or a total of twelve (12) medals;
9	WHEREAS, the Philippine National Arnis Team achieved the greatest number of
10	gold medals in the country and is the best performing arnis team in the SEA Games,
11	having secured a total of six (6) gold medals;
12	WHEREAS, under the Women's Division, Maria Ella Bantayan Alcoseba (Live
13	Stick Event), Charlotte Ann Paredes Tolentino (Bantamweight Padded Stick), Jedah-
14	Mae Geriba Soriano (Lightweight Padded Stick), and Trixie Mary Oponda Lofranco
15	(Individual Anyo Event) all won gold medals after besting their opponents from
16	Cambodia, Myanmar, and Vietnam. Also claiming victory is Jude Oliver Marie Rodriguez
17	who was awarded a silver medal for her success in the live stick event. Furthermore,
18	the trio of Jeanette Bonilla Agapito, Mary Allin Lomarda Aldeguer, and Ma. Crystal Jane

1

Bolanio Sapio similarly won silver medals owing to their impressive performance in the
Women's Team Anyo event;

WHEREAS, under the Men's Division, Filipino athletes Dexler Sandigan 3 4 Bolambao (Live Stick Event) and Crisamuel Tellez Delfin (Individual Anyo Event) also 5 won gold medals after convincing victories against their opponents. Meanwhile, Niño 6 Mark Esponela Talledo (Live Stick Event), Ezekyl Salaysay Habig (Bantamweight 7 Padded Stick), and Noah Gonzalez (Lightweight Padded Stick) claimed podium finishes, having won bronze medals in their respective events. Finally, Jeric Manuel 8 9 Arce, Mark David Pasinabo Puzon, and Mack John-Neil Gaddaoan Pineda likewise 10 managed to win bronze due to their efforts in the Men's Team Anyo event;

WHEREAS, behind the remarkable achievement of the Philippine National Arnis 11 12 Team is a passionate and hardworking coaching staff comprised of Delegation Head, 13 Grandmaster Rene R. Tongson, Head Coach Richardson C. Gialogo, Assistant Coaches 14 Aniano C. Lota Jr. and P/Capt. Reneto E. Tuñacao, Strength and Conditioning Coach Rodolfo Jay L. Garcia, trainers Joevannie M. Fajanil, Sgt. Julius B. Acosta, and 15 Romualdo M. Francisco Jr., and no other than Phil. Eskrima Kali Arnis Federation 16 17 Chairperson and President Senate President Juan Miguel F. Zubiri, whose guidance and determination ultimately propelled our arnis team to success; 18

WHEREAS, the overwhelming success of the Philippine National Arnis Team is a demonstration of the Filipino athletes' commitment to excellence having previously achieved 20 podium finishes comprising of fourteen (14) gold medals, four (4) silver medals, and two (2) bronze medals during the 30th SEA Games held in 2019;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Senate of the Philippines to commend and congratulate the Philippine National Arnis Team for their outstanding performance during the 32nd SEA Games held in Cambodia.

Adopted,

SONNY ANGARA