CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS First Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 7798

By Representatives Chan, Ouano-Dizon, Olivarez, Mendoza, Calderon, Salimbangon, Galeos, Estrella, Kho (W.), Lara, Bosita, Solon, Khonghun, Abalos, Pancho, Garcia (P.J.), Garcia (M.A.), Revilla (R.J.), Cruz (R.), Domingo, Peña, Fresnedi, Brosas, Tanjuatco and Del Mar, per Committee Report No. 482

AN ACT

INCREASING THE NUMBER OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE MACTAN-CEBU INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 6 OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6958, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CHARTER OF THE MACTAN-CEBU INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY"

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 6 of Republic Act No. 6958, otherwise known as the "Charter of the Mactan-Cebu International Airport Authority", is hereby amended to read as follows:

3 4 5

6

7

8

9

10 11

1

2

"SEC. 6. Board of Directors. – The corporate powers of the Authority shall be exercised by and vested in a Board of [eleven (11)] TWELVE (12) members, which shall be composed of a [Chairman] CHAIRPERSON, a Vice-[Chairman] CHAIRPERSON and [nine (9)] TEN (10) members. The Secretary of Transportation [and Communications] and the General Manager of the Authority shall be the ex officio [Chairman] CHAIRPERSON and Vice-[Chairman]

CHAIRPERSON of the Board, respectively. The [Assistant Secretary of the Air Transportation Office | DIRECTOR GENERAL THE **AUTHORITY** CIVIL AVIATION OF PHILIPPINES (CAAP) and the Secretaries of the following executive departments or any Undersecretary or Assistant Secretary designated by the respective Secretaries shall be ex officio members, to wit: the Department of Finance, the Department of Justice, and the Department of Tourism. In addition, four (4) members recommended by the governor of the Province of Cebu shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines for a term of [four (4)] THREE (3) years from the private sector. The governor of the Province of Cebu or [his] THE duly authorized representative shall be the ninth member. THE MAYOR OF THE CITY OF LAPU-LAPU OR THE DULY AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE SHALL BE THE TENTH MEMBER.

15 16 17

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10 11

12 13

14

x x x."

18 19

20

SEC. 2. All other laws, executive orders, letters of instruction, rules and regulations, or parts thereof inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed or amended accordingly.

212223

24

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,