CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

## **HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES**

H. No. 8251

BY REPRESENTATIVES GOMEZ, FERRER (J.M.), CO (E.), QUIMBO, MENDOZA, LIBANAN, ALBANO, DELOS SANTOS, GARIN, GONZALEZ, PALMA, PRIMICIAS-AGABAS, TEVES (J.), ALVAREZ (M.), ALVAREZ (J.), AQUINO, BAUTISTA-LIM, BERNOS, BONGALON, CABREDO, CAJAYON-UY, CARI, CO (A.N.), CUA, CUARESMA, DEL MAR, DUJALI, FUENTEBELLA, LARA, LIMKAICHONG, LOYOLA, NAVA, SALIMBANGON, SINGSON (R.V.), TIANGCO, UMALI, VARGAS-ALFONSO, YAP (ERIC), YU (D.G.), ZAMORA (M.C.), ZUBIRI, ABALOS, ALMARIO, AMANTE, ANG, ATAYDE, BASCUG, BOSITA, BUSTOS, CARDEMA, CHATTO, CHUNGALAO, CO-PILAR, CRUZ (A.), CRUZ (R.), DAGOOC, DIMAPORO (S.A.), DIONISIO, DY (F.M.C.), EUDELA, FORTES, FRESNEDI, GARCIA (D.), GARDIOLA, GO (M.), GOLEZ, GUTIERREZ, HERNANDEZ, KHONGHUN, LAGON (D.), LAGON (S.), LAZATIN, MACEDA, MANGAOANG, MANIQUIZ, MATIBAG, MERCADO, NOGRALES (M.), OUANO-DIZON, PANALIGAN, PANCHO, PLAZA, PLEYTO, REVILLA (R.J.), RODRIGUEZ (E.), SALI, SANTOS, TAN (J.), TULFO (J.), UNABIA, VARGAS, VERGARA, VERZOSA, YAP (C.), BULUT-BEGTANG, DALOG, GASATAYA, MARAÑON, ROMULO, SALO, TEVES (A.), VILLA, VILLAFUERTE (L.R.), YULO AND ZAMORA (Y.M.), PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 565

## **AN ACT**

CREATING FOUR (4) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE REGIONAL TRIAL COURT AND FOUR (4) ADDITIONAL BRANCHES OF THE MUNICIPAL TRIAL COURT IN CITIES IN THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL REGION TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF ORMOC, PROVINCE OF LEYTE, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 14(I) AND SECTION 29 OF BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 129, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS 'THE JUDICIARY REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1980', AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Four (4) additional branches of the Regional Trial Court and four (4) additional branches of the Municipal Trial Court in Cities in the Eighth Judicial Region are hereby created and stationed in the City of Ormoc, Province of Leyte.

The Supreme Court shall assign the respective branch numbers for the newly created branches of the Regional Trial Court and Municipal Trial Court in Cities.

8 **SEC. 2.** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in coordination with the Secretary 9 of the Department of Justice, shall immediately include in the Court's program the 10 operationalization of the additional branches of the Regional Trial Court and Municipal 11 Trial Court in Cities in the City of Ormoc, Province of Leyte.

**SEC. 3.** The funds necessary for the implementation of this Act, including appropriations for personnel services such as salaries, benefits and emoluments for judges and court personnel, court operations under maintenance and other operating expenses (MOOE), and provisions for Halls of Justice or courtrooms to accommodate judges and court staff, shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.

18

12

5

6 7

SEC. 4. Section 14(j) and Section 29 of Batas Pambansa Blg. 129, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.

24 **SEC. 5.** This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official* 25 *Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,