CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

SENATE

S. No. 2507

- PREPARED BY THE COMMITTEES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT JOINT WITH THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, WITH SENATORS ZUBIRI, VILLANUEVA, GATCHALIAN, EJERCITO, REVILLA JR., LAPID, LEGARDA, DELA ROSA, AND ANGARA AS AUTHORS THEREOF
- AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE NEGROS ISLAND REGION
- Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:
- SECTION 1. Short Title. This Act shall be known as
 the "Negros Island Region Act".
 SEC. 2. Declaration of Policy. It is hereby declared
 the policy of the State to promote efficiency in the
 government to enable it to pursue programs consistent
 with national goals for accelerated social and economic
 development.

1	Pursuant to this policy, the State shall promote
2	administrative decentralization to strengthen local
3	autonomy and accelerate the economic, cultural, and social
4	development of the region.
5	SEC. 3. Creation. – The Negros Island Region (NIR) is
6	hereby established which shall be composed of the
7	following provinces, including the cities, municipalities,
8	and barangays comprising the provinces:
9	(a) Negros Occidental including Bacolod City;
10	(b) Negros Oriental; and
11	(c) Siquijor
12	SEC. 4. Negros Island Region Government Offices. –
13	To ensure the effective delivery of public services to the
14	NIR, regional offices shall be established and designated in
15	the following manner:
16	(I) Negros Occidental
17	(a) Agriculture and Land-Related Cluster
18	(1) Department of Agriculture;
19	(2) Department of Environment and Natural
20	Resources;

1	(3) Department of Agrarian Reform; and
2	(4) Department of Human Settlements and Urban
3	Development.
4	(b) Peace and Order and Security Cluster
5	(1) Department of Justice;
6	(2) Department of the Interior and Local Government;
7	(3) Philippine National Police; and
8	(4) Department of National Defense.
9	(c) Governance Cluster
10	(1) Department of Budget and Management;
11	(2) Department of Finance;
12	(3) National Economic Development Authority;
13	(4) Department of Foreign Affairs;
14	(5) Commission on Audit; and
15	(6) Commission on Elections.
16	(II) Negros Oriental
17	(a) Human Development Cluster
18	(1) Department of Education;
19	(2) Department of Social Welfare and Development;
20	(3) Department of Health;

1	(4) Technical Education and Skills Development
2	Authority;
3	(5) Commission on Higher Education;
4	(6) Civil Service Commission;
5	(7) Philippine Statistics Authority; and
6	(8) Department of Labor and Employment.
7	(b) Infrastructure Cluster
8	(1) Department of Public Works and Highways;
9	(2) Department of Transportation;
10	(3) Department of Information and Communications
11	Technology; and
11 12	Technology; and (4) Department of Energy.
12	(4) Department of Energy.
12 13	(4) Department of Energy.(c) Industry and Labor Cluster
12 13 14	(4) Department of Energy.(c) Industry and Labor Cluster(1) Department of Trade and Industry;
12 13 14 15	 (4) Department of Energy. (c) Industry and Labor Cluster (1) Department of Trade and Industry; (2) Department of Tourism;
12 13 14 15 16	 (4) Department of Energy. (c) Industry and Labor Cluster (1) Department of Trade and Industry; (2) Department of Tourism; (3) Department of Science and Technology; and
12 13 14 15 16 17	 (4) Department of Energy. (c) Industry and Labor Cluster (1) Department of Trade and Industry; (2) Department of Tourism; (3) Department of Science and Technology; and (4) DOF - Securities and Exchange Commission.

Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), the
 Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG),
 the Department of Budget and Management (DBM), the
 representative of the Office of the Governor of the
 provinces, and the representatives from all elected
 members of the House of Representatives of the provinces.

7 The TWG shall formulate the plan or roadmap to put in place all institutional arrangements for the Negros 8 the organizational 9 Island Region and arrange for 10 development requirements as well as other necessary planning, 11 concerns for development investment programming, and public service provision. The DILG shall 12 serve as the secretariat of the TWG. 13

SEC. 6. Appropriations. – The amount necessary to 14 carry out the provisions of this Act shall be charged 15 against the current year's appropriations of concerned 16 17 agencies. Thereafter, the amount needed for the 18 implementation of this Act shall be included in the annual 19 General Appropriations Act.

5

1	SEC. 7. Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR). –
2	Within sixty (60) days from the effectivity of this Act, the
3	DILG, NEDA, and DBM, in consultation with the
4	provincial governments of Negros Occidental, Negros
5	Oriental, and Siquijor are mandated to promulgate the
6	IRR in relation to this Act.
7	SEC. 8. Separability Clause. – If any provision of this
8	Act is held invalid or unconstitutional, other parts or
9	provisions hereof not affected thereby shall continue to be
10	in full force and effect.
11	SEC. 9. Repealing Clause. – All laws, issuances, rules
12	and regulations or parts thereof that are inconsistent with
13	the provisions of this Act are hereby repealed, amended, or
14	modified accordingly.
15	SEC. 10. <i>Effectivity</i> . – This Act shall take effect fifteen
16	(15) days from its complete publication in the Official
17	<i>Gazette</i> or in a newspaper of general circulation.
	Approved,