CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

## SENATE

## S. No. 2594

- (In substitution of Senate Bill No. 2215, taking into consideration House Bill No. 8257)
- PREPARED BY THE COMMITTEES ON JUSTICE AND HUMAN RIGHTS; AND FINANCE WITH SENATORS PADILLA, TOLENTINO, DELA ROSA, GATCHALIAN, AND VILLANUEVA AS AUTHORS THEREOF
- AN ACT CREATING THREE (3) ADDITIONAL SHARI'A JUDICIAL DISTRICTS AND TWELVE (12) SHARI'A CIRCUIT COURTS THEREIN, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE ARTICLES 138, 147, AND 150 OF PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1083, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CODE OF MUSLIM PERSONAL LAWS OF THE PHILIPPINES", AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Article 138 of Presidential Decree No.
 1083, otherwise known as the "Code of Muslim Personal
 Laws of the Philippines", is hereby amended to read as
 follows:

1	"Article 138. Shari'a judicial districts. –
2	[ <del>Five</del> ] EIGHT special judicial districts, each to
3	have one Shari'a District Court presided over
4	by one judge, are constituted as follows:
5	(a) The First Shari'a District shall
6	comprise the Province of Sulu;
7	(b) The Second Shari'a District, the
8	Province of Tawi-Tawi;
9	(c) The Third Shari'a District, the
10	Province of Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and
11	Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog,
12	Pagadian and Zamboanga;
13	(d) The Fourth Shari'a District, the
14	provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del
15	Sur, and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi; [and]
16	(e) The Fifth Shari'a District, the
17	Provinces of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and
18	Sultan Kudarat, and the City of Cotabato[-];
19	(F) THE SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE
20	PROVINCES OF BUKIDNON, MISAMIS

1 ORIENTAL, MISAMIS OCCIDENTAL, 2 CAMIGUIN, THE CITY OF CAGAYAN DE ORO, 3 AND THE PROVINCES WITHIN REGIONS XI AND XIII; 4 (G) THE SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, 5 THE PROVINCES WITHIN REGIONS VI, VII, 6 AND VIII; AND 7 8 EIGHTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, (H) THE 9 NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION. THE 10 PROVINCES WITHIN **CORDILLERA** ADMINISTRATIVE REGION, AND REGIONS I, 11 12 II, III, IV-A, V, AND MIMAROPA." SEC. 2. Article 147 of Presidential Decree No. 1083 is 13 14 hereby amended as follows: "Article 147. Permanent stations; offices. -15 16 (1) The Shari'a District Courts shall have their 17 respective permanent stations in the following 18 places: (a) First Shari'a District, Jolo, Sulu; 19 20 (b) Second Shari'a District, Bongao, Tawi-Tawi;

1	(c) Third Shari'a District, Zamboanga City;
2	(d) Fourth Shari'a District, Marawi City;
3	(e) Fifth Shari'a District, Cotabato City;
4	(F) SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, DAVAO CITY;
5	(G) SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, CEBU
6	CITY; AND
7	(H) EIGHTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, MANILA
8	CITY."
9	SEC. 3. Article 150 of Presidential Decree No. 1083 is
10	hereby amended as follows:
11	"Article 150. Where established. –
12	(1) Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be established
13	as follows:
14	(a) Six such courts in the Province of Sulu;
15	(b) Eight in the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
16	(c) Ten in and for the Provinces of
17	Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga
18	del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog, Pagadian,
19	and Zamboanga;

1	(d) Twelve in and for the Provinces of
2	Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur and the
3	Cities of Iligan and Marawi;
4	(e) Fifteen in and for the Province of
5	Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan
6	Kudarat and the City of Cotabato[-];
7	(F) FIVE FOR THE PROVINCES OF
8	BUKIDNON, MISAMIS ORIENTAL,
9	MISAMIS OCCIDENTAL, CAMIGUIN, THE
10	CITY OF CAGAYAN DE ORO, AND THE
11	PROVINCES WITHIN REGIONS XI AND
12	XIII, TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF
13	VALENCIA, CITY OF GINGOOG, CITY OF
14	OZAMIS, CITY OF MAMBAJAO, AND CITY
15	OF CAGAYAN DE ORO;
16	(G) THREE FOR THE PROVINCES
17	WITHIN REGIONS VI, VII, AND VIII, TO BE
18	STATIONED IN THE CITY OF CEBU, CITY

19 OF TACLOBAN, AND ILOILO CITY; AND

5

1 (H) FOUR FOR THE NATIONAL CAPITAL 2 REGION. THE PROVINCES WITHIN 3 CORDILLERA ADMINISTRATIVE REGION, 4 REGIONS I, II, III, IV-A, V, AND MIMAROPA, TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF MANILA. 5 CITY OF TAGUIG. CITY OF DAGUPAN. AND 6 7 CITY OF PUERTO PRINCESA.

8 (2) The territorial jurisdiction of each of 9 the Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be fixed by the 10 Supreme Court on the basis of the geographical 11 contiguity AND ACCESSIBILITY of the 12 municipalities and cities concerned and their 13 Muslim population."

14 SEC. 4. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall 15 immediately include in the Court's program the 16 operationalization of the newly created Shari'a Judicial Districts, Shari'a District Courts, and Shari'a Circuit 17 18 Courts.

SEC. 5. The funds necessary for the implementationof this Act, including appropriations for personnel services

1 such as salaries, benefits and emoluments for judges and 2 court personnel, court operations under maintenance and 3 other operating expenses (MOOE), and provisions for Halls of Justice or courtrooms to accommodate judges and court 4 included 5 staff. shall be annual General in the 6 Appropriations Act.

SEC. 6. Separability Clause. - If any portion or
provision of this Act is declared unconstitutional, the
remainder of this Act or any provisions not affected
thereby shall remain in force and effect.

SEC. 7. *Repealing Clause.* – Any law, presidential
decree or issuance, executive order, letter of instruction,
rule or regulation inconsistent with the provisions of this
Act is hereby repealed or modified accordingly.

15 SEC. 8. *Effectivity*. – This Act shall take effect after
16 fifteen (15) days following its complete publication in the
17 *Official Gazette* or a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

7