

NINETEENTH CONGRESS OF THE)
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)
Second Regular Session)

24 MAR -7 A10:37

RECEIVED BY

P. S. RES. NO957

SENATE

Introduced by Senator Loren B. Legarda

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) AWARDEES OF THE 2023 PHILIPPINE RESILIENCE AWARDS FOR WOMEN

WHEREAS, the Philippine Resilience Award is a ground-breaking awards program that recognizes, honors, and promotes the resilience-building excellence of local leaders in the country;

WHEREAS, the main objective of the Philippine Resilience Award is to honor resilience advocates across various industries and localities, recognizing their innovative work in addressing complex and systemic issues, and acknowledging their significant contributions to disaster risk reduction, as well as climate change adaptation and mitigation efforts in their respective communities;

WHEREAS, in 2023, the Philippine Resilience Award honored and celebrated the remarkable accomplishments of women leaders from diverse backgrounds in the fields of resilience-building, climate, and disaster risk reduction;

WHEREAS, ten (10) exceptional women leaders were conferred awards last 12 October 2023, namely:

- 1. Hon. Maria Josefina Belmonte
- 2. Ms. Alicia Ilaga
- 3. Hon. Maria Catalina Cabral
- 4. Dr. Shirley Agrupis
- 5. Ms. Maria Vicente Jalandoni
- 6. Dr. Urduja Alvarado

- 7. Dr. Joy Mirasol
- 8. Ms. Nida Collado
- 9. Sr. Arcelita Sarnillo
- 10. Ms. Mila Bogñabal

WHEREAS, Mayor Maria Josefina Belmonte of Quezon City has been recognized for her leadership in promoting resilient food systems and sustainable livelihoods through the implementation of the City's Community-based Urban Farming Program;

WHEREAS, Ms. Alicia Ilaga, Director of the Climate Resilient Agriculture Office of the Department of Agriculture, is lauded for her steadfast dedication to enhancing community-based resilience in vulnerable farming communities through the Adaptation and Mitigation Initiative in Agriculture Program;

WHEREAS, Undersecretary Maria Catalina Cabral, Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), is recognized for her advocacy in enhancing the resilience of crucial infrastructure during the implementation of DPWH infrastructure projects;

WHEREAS, Dr. Shirley Agrupis, the President of Mariano Marcos State University, is commended for her commitment to advancing green technological advancements, such as improving sustainable local bioethanol production through the utilization of nipa sap;

WHEREAS, Ms. Maria Vicente Jalandoni, President of the Base Bahay Foundation, Inc., is recognized for her endeavors in advocating for sustainable, resilient, and environmentally friendly housing through the implementation of Cement-Bamboo Frame Technology;

WHEREAS, Dr. Urduja Alvarado, serving as the University President of Cagayan State University, is acknowledged for her community-based resilience endeavors, particularly centered on ecological progress and the empowerment of mangrove communities in Gonzaga, Cagayan;

WHEREAS, Dr. Joy Mirasol, as the University President of Bukidnon State University, is recognized for her leadership in advocating for the conservation of bio-

cultural diversity and resilience through the enhanced and empowered management of Protected Areas in Mindanao;

WHEREAS, Ms. Nida Collado, a farmer and the President of the Macatumbalen Community Based Forest and Coastal Management Association, is celebrated for her leadership in fostering community-centered sustainable forest management and environmental preservation in San Vicente, Palawan;

WHEREAS, Sr. Arcelita Sarnillo, Hospital Administrator of St. Paul's Hospital of Iloilo, Inc., is lauded for her recognition of the connection between human health and environmental factors, advocating for environmentally friendly, sustainable, and climate-resilient healthcare through the Green and Healthy Hospital Program;

WHEREAS, Ms. Mila Bogñabal, serving as the President of the Joroan Farmers and Fisherfolks Association, is recognized for her endeavors in advancing resilient food systems and sustainable livelihoods in Joroan Tiwi, Alba through the adoption of climate-resilient agricultural practices;

WHEREAS, the ten (10) awardees of the 2023 Philippine Resilience Awards for Women have demonstrated exceptional leadership, dedication, and innovation in their respective fields which significantly contributed to the advancement of resilience, empowerment, and gender equality in the Philippines;

WHEREAS, it is only fitting that the Senate of the Philippines extend its heartfelt congratulations and commendation to the awardees for their remarkable achievements.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Senate of the Philippines congratulate and comment the ten (10) awardees of the 2023 Philippine Resilience Awards for Women.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA