HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. Jt. Res. No. 1

BY REPRESENTATIVES CARI, ECLEO, BACULIO, PLAZA, MARTINEZ, WACNANG, NANTES, LIBANAN, MARCOS, GULLAS, ARROYO (I.), PICHAY, BERSAMIN, GARCIA (V.), SYJUCO, FIGUEROA, SALAPUDDIN, VILLAROSA AND AMANTE

JOINT RESOLUTION TO EXEMPT CERTAIN MUNICIPALITIES EMBODIED IN BILLS FILED IN CONGRESS BEFORE JUNE 30, 2001 FROM THE COVERAGE OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9009

WHEREAS, Section 450 of Republic Act No. 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code, originally prescribed an income requirement of Twenty million pesos (P20,000,000.00) for the conversion of a municipality or a cluster of barangays into a city;

WHEREAS, during the Eleventh Congress (1998-2001), fifty-six (56) bills which sought to convert certain municipalities into cities were filed, of which thirty-two (32) were enacted into law, one was rejected in a plebiscite and twenty-three (23) bills were not enacted upon due to lack of material time brought about by the impeachment proceedings against former President Joseph Estrada;

WHEREAS, the enactment of Senate Bill No. 2157 into law as Republic Act No. 9009 effectively raised the income requirement for the conversion of a municipality or a cluster of barangays into a city from Twenty million pesos (P20,000,000.00) to One hundred million pesos (P100,000,000.000);

WHEREAS, the imposition of a much higher income requirement for the conversion of a municipality or a cluster of barangays into a city virtually delivered a lethal blow to the aspirations of the municipalities embodied in bills filed during the Eleventh Congress to attain economic growth and development;

WHEREAS, in the interest of fairness and justice to the twenty-three (23) municipalities which were found to be qualified under the old provision of the Local Government Code like the thirty-two (32) other municipalities which had already been elevated to city status, there is a need to offer a legal remedy to local government units affected by the implementation of Republic Act No. 9009: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the House of Representatives, 1 2 the Senate concurring, To exempt the following municipalities which were sought to be converted into cities as embodied in bills filed before June 30, 3 2001 from the coverage of Republic Act No. 9009: 4 5 (1) Carcar, Cebu; (2) Binalbagan, Negros Occidental; 6 (3) Baybay, Leyte; 7 (4) Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro; 8 9 (5) Bogo, Cebu; 10 (6) San Francisco, Agusan del Sur; (7) Bayugan, Agusan del Sur; 11 (8) Pontevedra, Negros Occidental; ι2 (9) Lamitan, Province of Basilan; 13 (10) San Juan, Metro Manila; 14 (11) Tandag, Surigao del Sur; 15 (12) Tabuk, Kalinga; 16 (13) Batac, Ilocos Norte; 17 (14) Naga, Cebu; 18 (15) Borongan, Eastern Samar; 19 (16) Claveria, Misamis Oriental; 20 (17) El Salvador, Misamis Oriental; 21 (18) Opol, Misamis Oriental; 22 (19) Catbalogan, Samar; 23 (20) Pototan, Iloilo; 24 25 (21) Mati, Davao Oriental; (22) Cabadbaran, Agusan del Norte; and 26 (23) Guihulngan, Negros Oriental.

Approved,

27