	SENATE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES) Second Regular Session)	8 JUL -7 P417
SENATE S.B. No. 2428	O HECEIVED BY

Introduced by Senator Panfilo M. Lacson

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The pertinent provisions of Article VI of the 1987 Constitution expressly provides that:

Section 5. (3) "Each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory. Each city with a population of at least two hundred fifty thousand, or each province, shall have at least one representative."

Section 5. (4) "Within three years following the return of every census, the Congress shall make a reapportionment of legislative districts based on the standards provided in this section."

According to the latest Census of Population (POPCEN 2007) conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO), the population of the province of Cavite as of August 1, 2007 is 2,856,765. This makes Cavite the biggest province in the Philippines in terms of population. It is followed by the province of Bulacan with 2.83 million, and Pangasinan came in third, with 2.65 million.

However, at present, the province of Cavite is apportioned into (3) three legislative districts which allowed it to have only three (3) Representatives in the Lower House.

Compared to the province of Bulacan which is already divided into five (5) legislative districts and the province of Pangasinan which is represented in the House of Representatives by six (6) members of the House, the province of Cavite is clearly underrepresented in Congress to the detriment of people residing therein.

In consonance with the constitutional principle of proper democratic representation, this proposed measure seeks to reapportion the Province of Cavite from the present three (3) legislative districts to seven (7) legislative districts. Based on the geographical and population requirement provided for under Article VI, Section 5 (3), the following are thus strongly proposed to comprise the seven (7) legislative districts:

First District – the Municipalities of Kawit, Noveleta, and Rosario, and the City of Cavite;

Third District – the Municipality of Imus;

,

Fourth District - the Municipality of Dasmarinas;

Fifth District - the Municipalities of Carmona, GMA, and Silang;

Sixth District – the Municipalities of General Trias, Tanza, and Amadeo, and the City of Trece Martires; and

Seventh District – the Municipalities of Alfonso, General Aguinaldo, Indang, Magallanes, Maragondon, Mendez, Naic, and Ternate, and the City of Tagaytay.

In light of the foregoing, the immediate passage of this bill is earnestly sought.

NFILO M. LACSON Senator

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC) OF THE PHILIPPINES) Second Regular Session)

8 JUL -7 P4:07

HECEWED BY

SENATE S.B. No. **2428**

Introduced by Senator Panfilo M. Lacson

AN ACT REAPPORTIONING THE PROVINCE OF CAVITE INTO SEVEN (7) LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

Section 1. Legislative Districts – The Province of Cavite, which shall have seven (7) legislative districts to commence in the next national elections after the effectivity of this Act, is hereby reapportioned as follows:

FIRST LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Cavite City
- (2) Kawit
- (3) Noveleta
- (4) Rosario

SECOND LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT (1) Bacoor

THIRD LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT (1) Imus

FOURTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT (1) Dasmarinas

FIFTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

(1) Carmona

- (2) General Mariano Alvarez (GMA)
- (3) Silang

SIXTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Trece Martires City
- (2) General Trias
- (3) Tanza
- (4) Amadeo

SEVENTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Tagaytay City
- (2) Alfonso
- (3) General Aguinaldo
- (4) Indang
- (5) Magallanes
- (6) Maragondon
- (7) Mendez
- (8) Naic
- (9) Ternate

Section 2. Rules and Regulations. – The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.

Section 3. Repealing Clause – All laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.

Section 4. Effectivity – This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,