	SENATE S.B. No. 2501	PROGNED BY:
Second Regular Session)	8 JUL 31 /\(\)1:28
FOURTEENTH CONGRESS of the REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)	OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Introduced by HON. RAMON BONG REVILLA, JR.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

According to Article VI of the 1987 Constitution, to wit:

Section 5.(3) "Each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory. Each city with a population of at least two hundred fifty thousand, or each province, shall have at least one representative."

Section 5.(4) "Within three years following the return of every census, the Congress shall make a reapportionment of legislative districts based on the standards provided in this section."

In consonance with this constitutional mandate and in the interest of proper democratic representation of the people, particularly in the Province of Cavite, I am compelled to propose this legislative measure: the reapportionment of the Province of Cavite into seven (7) legislative districts.

In the latest census (August 2007) conducted by the National Statistics Office, the Province of Cavite registered a population of 2,856,765, with only three (3) legislative districts. Comparatively, Manila with a population of 1,403,664; Negros Occidental with 3,000,554; Pangasinan with 2,690,911; and Cebu with 3,707,212, has six (6) legislative districts each.

Based on the geographical and population requirement provided for under Section 5 (3), of Article VI, the following are strongly proposed to comprise the seven (7) legislative districts:

First District - Municipalities of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, and the City of Cavite;

Second District - Municipality of Bacoor; - Municipality of Imus; Third District

Fourth District - Municipality of Dasmariñas,

Fifth District - Municipalities of Carmona, General Mariano Alvarez (GMA) and Silang;

- Municipalities of General Trias, Tanza and Amadeo, and City of Trece Sixth District

Martires; and

Seventh District - Municipalities of Alfonso, General Aguinaldo, Indang, Magallanes,

Maragondon, Mendez, Naic and Ternate, and the City of Tagaytay.

Hence, passage of this bill is earnestly sought

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session)		OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY 8 JUL 31 AT :38			
S. E	SENATE 3. No. <u>25</u>	01	* { . &	Necen4	ed by:_	/	
Introduced by Senator Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr.							
REAPPORTIONING THE PE LEGISL	AN ACT ROVINCE (ATIVE DIC			TO SEV	VEN (7)		
Be it enacted by the Senate and Congress Assembled:	the House	of Repre.	sentati	ves of t	he Philip	ppines in	
SECTION 1. Legislative Distriction into seven (7) legislative districts to community this Act. Henceforth, the following shall be	nence in the	next elec	tions fo				
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT	٠. 						
(1) Cavite City;							
(2) Kawit;							
(3) Noveleta; and							
(4) Rosario.							
SECOND LEGISLATIVE DISTRI	ICT						
(1) Bacoor							
THIRD LEGISLATIVE DISTRIC	\mathbf{T}						
(1) Imus							
FORTH LEGISLATIVE							
(1) Dasmariñas							
FIFTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT							
(1) Carmona;							

(2) General Mariano Alvarez (GMA); and

(3) Silang.

SIXTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Trece Martires City;
- (2) General Trias;
- (3) Tanza; and
- (4) Amadeo

SEVENTH LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT

- (1) Tagaytay City;
- (2) Alfonso;
- (3) General Aguinaldo;
- (4) Indang;
- (5) Magallanes;
- (6) Maragondon;
- (7) Mendez;
- (8) Naic; and
- (9) Ternate.

SECTION 2. Rules and Regulation. – The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.

SECTION 3. Repealing Clause. - All laws, executive orders, rules and regulations inconsistent with the provision of this act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.

SECTION 4. Effectivity. - This act shall take effect fifteen (15) days following the publication in at least two (2) newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,