# FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session

tig of the second se

15 朝前 In Al 24

### SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 98 .....

1
Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

### RESOLUTION

# CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE AWARDEES FOR THE 2010 SEARCH FOR OUTSTANDING TEACHERS HONORED BY THE METROBANK FOUNDATION, INC.

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers is an annual search undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in consonance with its commitment to promote a culture of excellence in education by recognizing the country's best mentors who can be upheld as models not only for educators but for other community members as well;

WHEREAS, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has been conducting the Search for Outstanding Teachers since 1985 in recognition of the profound commitment to the development of the youth through exemplary competence, remarkable dedication to their work and an effective educational leadership;

WHEREAS, the Search for Outstanding Teachers awardees were selected from 156 nominees coming from various public and private educational institutions in the Philippines, of which 40 qualified as regional finalists who underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the members of the preliminary board of judges identified for each category, 20 of whom were selected to become the national finalists then who faced the Final Board of Judges for this year's Search co-chaired by Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri and Supreme Court associate Justice Antonio Eduardo B. Nachura;

WHEREAS, this year's winners will join the rank of outstanding teachers who have been honored by the Foundation for the last 25 years and will automatically become members of the Network of Outstanding Teachers and Educators or NOTED, an honor society of outstanding teachers committed to nurturing a culture of excellence and service among educators through professional development, publications, research, and advocacy in active partnership with government and non-government organizations;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in congratulating and commending the educators who have served as infrastructures for continuing excellence and provided greater impact on their respective spheres of influence through the 2010 Search for Outstanding Teachers;

**RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED,** that the Philippine Senate congratulate and commend the 2010 Search for Outstanding Teachers Awardees honored by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., namely:

## From the elementary level

- 1. Grace U. Salvatus of Municipal Sector Elementary School in Calauag, Quezon
- 2. Miladith B. Polutan of Oroquieta City Central Elementary School in Oroquieta City
- 3. Conchita A. Ibarondo of San Antonio Elementary School in Iriga City
- 4. Nancy S. Aquino of Mlang Pilot Elementary School in Mlang, Cotabato

# From the secondary level

- 5. Janeth Morata-Fuentes of the Philippine Science High School-Eastern Visayas Campus in Palo, Leyte
- 6. **Mercidita S. Villamayor** of Bukidnon State University-Secondary School Lab in Malaybalay City
- 7. Estrelita A. Peña of Kabasalan National High School in Kabasalan, Zamboanga Sibugay
- 8. **Mercelita J. Labial** of Xavier University High School in Cagayan de Oro City

# From the higher education level

- 9. Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara of the University of the Philippines-Diliman
- 10 Dr. Raymund C. Sison of the De La Salle University in Manila

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAP

Senator