Press Release
January 15, 2007


Seventeen cooperatives from all over the country will be recognized in the COOP-LGU Partnership Awards (CLPA) 2006 to be held at the Senate on January 23, 2007.

The seventeen cooperatives qualified for the CLPA 2006 Awards after a grueling nationwide site validation process conducted by government and academic institutions recently.

The CLPA recognizes and awards outstanding cooperatives that have joined hands with local governments in implementing social and economic development projects in local communities.

Senate Minority Leader Aquilino Q. Pimentel Jr. is spearheading the CLPA in collaboration with the Land Bank of the Philippines, UP National College of Public Administration and Governance, PUP College of Cooperatives, Cooperative Development Authority, and Touch Mobile.

Awards will be given to the outstanding cooperatives in three categories partnership with a provincial government, partnership with a city government and partnership with a municipal government.

The winners for each category will receive a cash grant of P100, 000 and a plaque of recognition at the awarding ceremonies from Senator Pimentel and Senate President Manuel Villar at the Senate on January 23, 2007. The partner local government units will likewise be recognized during this occasion.

The outstanding cooperatives who have partnered with a province are Bongabong Coconut Farmers Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bongabong, Oriental Mindoro; Cebu CFI Community Cooperative of Cebu City; Ipil Consumers Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay; Mangloy Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Laak, Compostella Valley ; and Paglaum Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Plaridel, Misamis Occidental.

The outstanding cooperatives that have partnered with a municipality are Dingle Government Workers Credit Cooperative of Dingle, Iloilo; Manatal Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pandi, Bulacan; Maragusan Waterworks and Sanitation Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Maragusan, Compostella Valley; Maranding Women Investors Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Lala, Lanao del Norte; Pavia Entrepreneurs Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pavia, Iloilo and Taba-ao Cuba Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Kapangan, Benguet.

Outstanding cooperatives in the city category are El Grande Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Catalunan Grande, Davao City; St. Jude Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Lucena, Quezon; San Dionisio Credit Cooperative of Paraaque City; San Jose Del Monte Kooperatiba ng Bayan sa Kaunlaran of San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan; Novaliches Development Cooperative of Quezon City and Napico Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Pasig City.

The success of these cooperatives in implementing anti-poverty and people empowerment projects show that partnership with local governments is not only possible but desirable if they both share the objective of improving the quality of life in local communities, said Pimentel, principal author of the Local Government Code and the Cooperative Code.

Both the cooperative and its partner local government unit will be interviewed by a national steering committee composed of the following: Senator Aquilino Pimentel, Land Bank of the Philippines President Gilda Pico; UP President Emerlinda Roman, Polytechnic University of the Philippines Vice President Dante Gedaria, Dr. Florangel Rosario-Braid of the Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication, Jeffrey Tarayao of Globe/Touch Mobile, UP NCPAG Dean Alex Brillantes, Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines President Erico Aumentado and Coop-LGU Project Director Prospero E. de Vera on January 22, 2007.

The Most Outstanding Cooperative in each category will be announced during the Awarding Ceremonies on January 23, 2007.

News Latest News Feed