Press Release
June 7, 2007


The Senate recognized the first ASEAN women and their team who made it to the summit of Mount Everest during their visit to the Senate.

It awarded a resolution to Noelle Wenceslao, Carina Dayondon, Janet Belarmino, and the Kaya ng Pinay Everest Team as a commendation to their courage and determination exemplified in their successful climb of the worlds tallest mountain.

The Senate President said, We celebrate and take pride in the audacity of our women who have conquered Mount Everest, marking another milestone in our accomplishments as a country.

Their feat clearly demonstrates the outstanding skill and strength of our Filipino women in the face of the fiercest adversities as they reach their goal. It upholds the importance of women empowerment in our country, further elevating the distinct qualities of our women, Villar said.

Villar authored Senate Resolution No. 629 giving recognition to the women climbers and their team.

News Latest News Feed