Press Release
December 7, 2009


With reforms and good governance as its campaign battle cry, the ranks of the Liberal Party have grown stronger at the ground level as thousands of new members joined the party and making it the dominant minority party to battle the old behemoth of traditionalist political parties that seek to preserve the corrupt, old system of political patronage and transactional politics in the 2010 national elections, party officials claimed today.

The LP is fielding the formidable presidential and vice presidential tandem of Senators Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III and Manuel "Mar" Roxas II, a complete "Peoples' Reform" senatorial ticket and a strong local line-up in the 2010 elections.

Aquino and Roxas have been leading in all presidential and vice presidential surveys conducted by reputable polling firms, leading their rivals by wide margins and reflecting the people's pulse for serious improvements in government policies and direction and their aspiration for a better Philippines.

Roxas, the President of the Liberal Party, said the people's thirst for change has made the LP a shining beacon in the midst of the seeming hopelessness that many Filipinos are feeling because of the corruption that has gnawed at the principles of honesty and decency that government was expected to emulate.

"Pagod na ang lahat sa bulok na sistema ng ating gobyerno. Uhaw sa pagbabago ang ating mga kababayan. Sandali na lang at makakamit na nating lahat ang ating pangarap ng isang bagong Pilipinas (Everyone's tired of the rotten government we have. Our people thirst for change. I can say it won't be long before will realize our dream of a better Philippines)," he said.

The Liberals' "Peoples' Reform" senatorial slate is comprised of former Senate President Franklin Drilon, Muntinlupa Rep. Ruffy Biazon, Bukidnon Rep. Teofisto "TG" Guingona, former Bukidnon Rep. Nereus 'Neric" Acosta, Akbayan Rep. Risa Hontiveros-Baraquel, former National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) chief Ralph Recto, Sonia Roco of Aksyon Demokratiko, former Sen. Sergio Osmeña, detained Brig. Gen. Danny Lim, lawyer Alex Lacson, Dr. Martin Bautista and women's right advocate Yasmin Busran Lao.

Lacson is a lawyer who finished law at the U.P. College of Law in Diliman, and took post- graduate studies at Harvard Law School. He also studied at the Philippine Military Academy for three years. He is the author of the bestselling "12 Things Every Filipino Can Do To Help Our Country."

Bautista is a member of the "Ang Kapatiran" (Alliance for the Common Good) political party. He is a gastro-enterologist, married to a pulmonologist. He ran under a platform of change during the 2007 senatorial elections but lost due to financial and logistics support.

On the other hand, Yasmin Busran Lao is a peace and civil society advocate who seeks gender justice for Muslim women by founding the only institutional Muslim women NGO in the country, the Al-Mujadillah Development Foundation (AMDF). The US government conferred on Lao the Ninoy Aquino Public Service Award for her work in uplifting the plight of the marginalized.

The complete senatorial slate will be complemented by service-oriented and trustworthy local executives, who are committed to Aquino's and Roxas' platform of reforms and good governance. The party leadership has recently sworn in hundreds of new Liberals following an exodus of members from other political parties, defections which have boosted the party's local base support and strengthened its foothold on the countryside.

Among the Liberal Party's local candidates are: Victor Agbayani (for Pangasinan governor), Nani Braganza (Alaminos City, mayor), Grace Padaca (Isabela, governor), Josefina dela Cruz (Bulacan, governor), Joselito Andrew Mendoza (3District, Bulacan), Ed Panlilio (Pampanga , governor), Adonis Simpao (2D, Pampanga), Oscar Rodriguez (San Fernando City, Pampanga mayor), Genaro Mendoza (2D Tarlac), Marco Manuel Mendoza (Tarlac City, mayor).

Rosa Vilma Santos-Recto (Batangas, governor), Joseph Emilio Abaya (1D, Cavite), Plaridel Abaya (2D, Cavite), Erineo "Ayong" Malicsi (3D, Cavite), Jose Lina Jr. (Laguna, governor), Rafael Nantes (Quezon, governor), Erin Tañada (4D, Quezon), Lorenzo Yu Sumulong III (2D Antipolo), Edmundo Reyes Jr. (Lone District Marinduque), Alfonso Umali Jr. (Oriental Mindoro, governor), Abraham Kahlil Mitra (Palawan, governor), Liwayway Vinzons Chato (2D, Camarines Norte), Jaimes delos Santos Jacob (3D, Camarines Sur).

Victor Tanco (Capiz governor), Antonio del Rosario (1D Capiz), Roberto Lastimoso (2D Capiz), Raul Tupas (Iloilo governor), Niel Tupas Sr. (4D Iloilo), Niel Tupas Jr. (5D Iloilo), Cesar Montano (Bohol, governor), Hilario Davide III (Cebu, governor), Jesus M. Durano Jr. (5D Cebu), Jesus Durano (Danao City, Cebu, mayor), Tomas Osmeña (2D Cebu City), Richard Gomez (4D Leyte), Paul Daza (Northern Samar, governor), Raul Daza (1D Northern Samar), Maria Isabelle Climaco (1D Zamboanga City), Socorro Acosta (1D Bukidnon), Ruth Guingona (Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental, mayor), Rodolfo del Rosario (Davao del Norte, governor), Antonio del Rosario (1D Davao del Norte), Rodrigo Duterte (Davao City, Vice Mayor), Maria Belen Acosta (1D Davao City), and Mujiv Hataman (Basilan, governor).

In the metropolis, the Aquino-Roxas tandem is enjoying the support of Quezon City Mayor Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte, his Vice Mayor Herbert "Bistek" Belmonte and his daughter Joy. Belmonte and Joy will run as the mayoralty and vice mayoralty bets, respectively, of the Liberal Party in what is known as the "City of Stars."

The LP will likewise field Enrico "Recom" Echiverri and Alfredo "Fred" Lim in their reelection bids as Caloocan City and Manila mayors, Del de Guzman as Marikina City mayor, Antolin Oreta III as Malabon City vice mayor, Shalani Carla San Ramon Soledad as Valenzuela City councilor, Jaime Delarosa Fresnedi as Muntinlupa City mayor, incumbent Sen. Rodolfo "Pong" Biazon as Muntinlupa congressman, Ediwn Olilvarez as Paranaque City congressman and Antonio Calixto as Pasay City mayor.

"Hindi tayo aatras. Tuloy-tuloy ang ating laban para sa pagbabago. Hindi namin pababayaan ang taumbayan," Roxas, who is the LP president, said.

News Latest News Feed