Press Release
July 6, 2010


Senator Edgardo J. Angara today emphasized the importance of alliances in electing the next Senate President, explaining that by themselves, the individual blocs do not have the numbers to elect their standard bearer.

"Under our rules, 13 votes - or an absolute majority - are required to elect a Senate President. Right now, there are only 21 votes to be counted, with President Aquino's seat in the Senate left vacant and the possibility of Senators Lacson and Trillanes not being able to vote. By themselves, the individual blocs do not have sufficient numbers to elect an SP. Alliances will be decisive here," he said.

LP has four members: Senators Francis Pangilinan, Teofisto Guingona III, Ralph Recto and Franklin Drilon. It also has two allies in Senator Sergio Osmena and Senator Chiz Escudero.

Meanwhile, NP has Senators Manuel Villar, Allan Peter Cayetano, Pia Cayetano, Bongbong Marcos, Miriam Defensor Santiago and Joker Arroyo.

Angara's group includes Senators Migz Zubiri, Bong Revilla, Lito Lapid, Tito Sotto, Loren Legarda and Gregorio Honasan.

Senators Juan Ponce Enrile and Jinggoy Estrada have formed their own sub-bloc.

"Our group is still in talks with the Senate President aspirants. Our criteria remain the same: we want someone who will protect the independence of the Senate and present a strategic reform agenda for the country," he said.

"The Senate's strength as an institution is that it can think and act independently. We need an SP who will protect the Senate's autonomy if there is a potential clash. If the Senate is a mere appendage, it loses it credibility," he said.

"Neither must he become obstructionist, or oppose for opposition's sake. Cooperation and coordination will be important in pursuing badly-needed reforms in the education, health and finance sectors," said Angara.

Angara's bloc will decide on whom to support by July 15.

News Latest News Feed