Press Release
August 24, 2010

Senate elects CA and SET members

The Senate has elected 12 senators to the powerful Commission on Appointments (CA) with Minority Floor Leader Alan Peter Cayetano and Sen. Joker Arroyo representing the Minority and Senate Pro-Tempore Jinggoy Estrada, Majority Floor Leader Vicente "Tito" Sotto III, Senators Franklin Drilon, Gringo Honasan, Ralph Recto, Sergio Osmena III, Edgardo Angara, Ramon "Bong" Revilla, Francisco "Chiz" Escudero and Miriam Defensor-Santiago representing the Majority.

Meanwhile, Senators Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan, Mauel "Lito" Lapid, Pia Cayetano, Loren Legarda, Honasan and Angara were elected to the Senate Electoral Tribunal.

By 2011, Senators Escudero and Guingona will replace Senators Honasan and Angara at the Senate Electoral Tribunal.

The Commission on Appointments is composed of the Senate President as ex-officio chairman and 12 members each from the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Members from each House of Congress are elected based on proportional representation from the political parties and parties or organizations registered under the party-list system represented.

The Chairman of the Commission shall vote only in case of a tie. It shall act on all appointments submitted within 30 session days of Congress.

* Press Release by Public Relations and Information Bureau (PRIB)

News Latest News Feed