Press Release
February 1, 2011


Four Angara fellows will be honored by the University of the Philippines officials and donors on Wednesday.

The honorees and the subject of their respective policy papers are: Prof. Raul Fabella of the UP School of Economics (UPSE) to study government procurement procedures in aid of legislation; Prof. Raul Pangalanan of the UP College of Law on the ASEAN experience of constitutional adjudication; and Prof. Ramon Pedro Paterno of the Institute of Health Policy and Development Studies in UP Manila on financing universal health care through Philhealth.

The four were chosen from among leading university professors whose policy research works have been exceptional.

The endowment known as the UP President Edgardo J. Angara (UP PEJA) Fellowship Award, was established by the UP Board of Regents during the UP Centennial, to extend reward and recognition to high-level research and discussion of the country's development goals and policies, in the areas of science and technology, fiscal, budget and financial studies, agriculture and rural development, environment and climate change.

An initial Php50 Million was endowed by the family and friends of Angara, who served as UP President from 1981-1987.

The four awardees were chosen by the members of the Fellowship Committee, namely, School of Economics UP President Edgardo J. Angara (UP PEJA) Fellowship Award Dean Arsenio Balisacan, University Professor Emeritus Edgardo Gomez, UP engineering alumnus and former Energy secretary Delfin Lazaro, former UP College of Medicine Dean and Health secretary Alberto Romualdez and NEDA Director General Cayetano W. Paderanga Jr.

News Latest News Feed