Press Release
May 24, 2012

Congressional Reapportionment of Cotabato Proposed

The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Local Government, Senator Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr.,has delivered today, May 23, the sponsorship speech on House Bill 4111,a proposed measure that seeks to reapportion Cotabato province into three legislative districts.

"The province of Cotabato is economically stable. It is considered as Mindanao's food basket for being the primary producer of cereals, tropical fruits, vegetables, sugarcane, coconut, coffee, freshwater fish, and livestock. In terms of population, it has a total population of 1,226,508 based on the 2010 census of population and housing issued by the National Statistics Office," Marcos said.

Under the bill, the first legislative district shall be composed of the municipalities of Pikit, Pigkawayan, Alamada, Libungan, Midsayap, and Aleosan. The second legislative district will be comprised of Kidapawan City and the towns of Makilala, Magpet, Roxas, Antipas, and Arakan. The towns of Banilisan, Carmen, Kabacan, Matalam, Mlang, and Tulunan shall constitute the third legislative district.

The proposed reapportionment has complied with the requirements laid down in the 1987 Constitution, which states that each legislative district shall comprise, as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory.

"With the increasing population of Cotabato, the said province indeed deserves an additional seat in the House of Representatives," emphasized Senator Marcos.

News Latest News Feed