Press Release
June 6, 2012

Senate Approves on Third Reading the Bill for Reapportionment of Palawan

During its June 4 plenary session, the Senate approved on third and final reading House Bill No. 5608, a proposed act which seeks to reapportion the province of Palawan into three legislative districts.

"Should this bill be approved, the first legislative district shall remain without any change in its composition, and the second district shall be composed of the municipalities of Balabac, Batarasa, Brooke's Point, Narra, Quezon, Rizal, and Sofronio Española. However, one additional legislative district will be added to the province of Palawan. The new district shall consist of the City of Puerto Princesa and the Municipality of Aborlan," Marcos explained.

Marcos added that Palaweños deserve an additional seat in the Lower House, after having complied with the mandates set by the Constitution, which requires that a representative district must consist of contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory.

The bill will be forwarded to the Office of the President for his consideration.

News Latest News Feed