Press Release
June 6, 2012

79 new courts seen to lessen backlog of pending cases

Two Senate bills and 21 House bills calling for the creation of 70 additional Regional Trial Courts (RTCs) and nine Municipal Trial Courts (MTCs) nationwide were passed second reading on the last day of session today, June 6, 2012.

The bills, sponsored by Sen. Chiz Escudero, chairman of the Senate Committee on Justice and Human Rights, seek to amend section 14 of "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980," which focuses on the creation of Regional Trial Courts.

Approved were House Bill Nos. 4471, 4472, 4469, 4473, 4474, 4475, 4476, 4479, 4489, 4490, 4491, 4492, 4493, 4494, 4495, 4497, 4511, 4513, 4521, 4522, 4744 and Senate Bill Nos. 2958 and 2539.

Additional RTCs will be created in the provinces of Romblon, Cavite, Davao, Kalinga, Leyte, Iloilo, Surigao del Sur, Laguna, Negros Occidental, Palawan, Misamis Oriental, Zamboanga, Cebu, Compostela Valley, Batangas and Aurora, Escudero said.

According to Escudero, there are also plans to create Regional Trial Courts in Metro Manila, specifically in the cities of Navotas, Valenzula and Muntinlupa in the near future to lessen the backlog on pending cases. (Olive Caunan, PRIB)

News Latest News Feed