Press Release
July 24, 2012

79 new courts seen to lessen backlog of pending cases

Two Senate bills and 17 House bills calling for the creation of 70 additional Regional Trial Courts (RTCs) and nine Municipal Trial Courts (MTCs) nationwide were passed on third and final reading today.

Sen. Chiz Escudero, chairman of the Committee on Justice and Human Rights, said the bills would lessen the backlog of pending cases, especially in the provinces.

The bills were unanimously.

Escudero said the bills seek to amend section 14 of "The Judiciary Reorganization Act of 1980," which focuses on the creation of Regional Trial Courts.

House Bill Nos. 4471, 4472, 4469, 4473, 4474, 4475, 4479, 4489, 4490, 4491, 4492, 4493, 4494, 4495, 4497, 4521, 4522, 4744 and Senate Bill Nos. 2958 and 2539 were approved on second reading before the Senate adjourned its second regular session last June 6, 2012.

The additional RTCs and MTCs to be created are the Navotas City Regional Trial Court, Sibuyan Island Regional Trial Court, Davao City Regional Trial Court, Luluagan Regional Court, Leyte Regional Trial Court, Barotac Viejo Regional Trial Court, Bislig Regional Trial Court, Sagay City Regional Trial Court, Puerto Princesa City Municipal Trial Court, Cagayan de Oro Municipal Trial Court, Guimbal Regional Trial Court, Carmona Regional Trial Court, La Carlota and Bago Regional Trial Court, Muntinlupa City Metropolitan Trial Court, Compostela and Mabini Regional Court, Tanauan Regional Trial Court, Casiguran Regional Trial Court, Zamboanga City Regional Trial Court and the Cavite Regional Trial Courts.

"The creation of these new courts will increase the rate of resolved pending cases." Escudero said.

The 79 new courts will be added to the 636 courts that were already approved since the 14th Congress. (Olive Caunan, PRIB writer)

News Latest News Feed