Press Release
August 6, 2012

Senate approves 19 more courts

The Senate today approved on third and final reading several House bills creating 19 additional judicial courts in the provinces of Cebu and Laguna and in Valenzuela City.

Senator Chiz Escudero, chair of the Senate Justice and Human Rights Committee, sponsored House Bill Nos. 4476, 4492, 4511 and 4513. The bills were approved with 19 affirmative votes, zero negativevote and zero abstention.

Senators who approved the proposed legislation were Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Senate President Pro-Tempore Jinggoy Estrada, Senate Majority Floor Leader Tito Sotto, Joker Arroyo, Pia Cayetano, Frank Drilon, Chiz Escudero, T.G. Guingona, Gringo Honasan, Ping Lacson, Lito Lapid, Loren Legarda, Bongbong Marcos, Serge Osmeña, Koko Pimentel, Ralph Recto, Bong Revilla Jr., Sonny Trillanes and Manny Villar.

Once enacted into law, seven Regional Trial Courts (RTC) shall be created in the province of Cebu. Of the seven courts, one branch will be located in Naga City while another branch will be created in Carcar City. The five remaining branches will be in Bogo City. Four additional RTCs and three Municipal Trial Courts (MTC) shall be created in Valenzuela City. Five RTCs shall be created in Calamba City and in the municipalities of Los Banos and Cabuyao in Laguna. The bills were approved on second reading without amendments last July 31.

Enrile commended the sponsors of the proposed legislation and the senators for their prompt action on the approval of the bills. The passage of the measure into law will lessen the backlog of cases in the Philippines, especially those in the provinces.

The creation of the new courts shall help the judicial system act fast on pending cases particularly in the provinces of Cebu and Laguna and in Valenzuela City. (OLIVE CAUNAN, PRIB)

News Latest News Feed