Press Release
September 21, 2012

Villar to open Villards Cup in Bulacan

Sixteen aspiring pool players from Bulacan will take a shot at joining the likes of Efren "Bata" Reyes, Francisco "Django" Bustamante and Dennis Orcollo as they compete in the Villards Cup, which resumes this Sunday (September 23) at Starmall in San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan.

Now on its fourth year, this series of billiards tournaments started by Senator Manny Villar has travelled to different parts of the country and inspired many, particularly the youth, to take up the sport "which we, Filipinos, are on top of the world."

"Villards Cup is our own little way of encouraging the youth to engage in sports, and move them away from illegal drugs. Alam kong marami pang katulad ni Efren Bata o ni Orcollo sa ating mga kabataan. Gusto kong maging instrumento ang Villards Cup na matuklasan sila at mabigyan ng pagkakataon na makilala din." Villar said.

"Billiards now matches the popularity of basketball among Filipinos, especially the youth. Support for this sport should be encouraged and enhanced," added Villar, who will grace the opening ceremonies along with Reyes, Bustamante, Orcollo and fellow former world champion Ronnie Alcano.

The 16 amateur players, who emerged from a series of qualifiers, will also vie for cash prizes worth almost P300,000, which will be awarded by Congresswoman Cynthia Villar, Managing Director of the Villar Foundation during the closing ceremonies on Monday.

Meanwhile, Senator Villar authored proposed Senate Resolution No. 875 commending Orcollo for winning the 2012 China Open held in Shanghai recently.

"Orcollo's win solidifies the Filipino's dominance over billiards. For years, more and more Filipinos are getting international fame in this sport and like boxing, people are seeing billiards as the Filipino's game," Villar said.

Orcollo defeated Chinese-Taipei's Lu Hui Chan, 11-9, in the finals to add another prestigious title. He had earlier won the World 8-ball Championship, International 10-ball Championship, World Pool League, World Pool Masters and the US 10-ball Championship.

News Latest News Feed