Press Release
January 10, 2013

Legarda lauds national winners of Best School Forest Park Program

Senator Loren Legarda today lauded the winners and participants in the "Best School Forest Park" Program during the awarding ceremonies at the Department of Education (DepEd) Complex, stressing that their involvement in the project is a significant step towards environmental protection.

"I thank every school that joined this program, and every student who participated in making our schools greener and healthier. While we will award those that have been judged as the best, keep in mind that every school is already a winner because every school has contributed to our fight for a better Philippines," said Legarda, Chair of the Senate Committee on Climate Change and founder of Luntiang Pilipinas.

Legarda congratulated all the winners led by the grand winner--Cauayan City National High School from Cauayan, Isabela (Region II)--and said she hopes that the schools will continue to nurture their forest parks and that other schools will be inspired to create their own forest parks.

The Senator also thanked the Department of Education, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, and the Department of Agriculture along with the Bureau of Plant Industry, the partner agencies of Luntiang Pilipinas for the Best Forest School Park program, for their efforts in creating awareness among youth the value of tree-growing.

"It is an imperative for us to do everything in our power to protect the forests left for our children and for humanity. It is an uphill climb but we must gather courage. We must pool in our knowledge, our skills, our commitment, and our passion," she stressed.

The four national finalists and other regional winners are:

  • Tubungan National High School (Region VI) - First Runner-up

  • Ilocos Norte National High School (Region I) - Second Runner-up

  • Barobo National School (CARAGA) - Third Runner-up

  • Dacudao National High School (Region XI) - Fourth Runner-up

  • Maria Aurora National High School (Region III)

  • Alabat National High School (CALABARZON)

  • Princess Urduja National High School (MIMAROPA)

  • Don Servillano Platon Memorial High School (Region V)

  • Sierra Bullones Technical Vocational High School (Region VII)

  • Tacloban National Agricultural High School (Region VIII)

  • Siayan National High School (Region IX)

  • Placida Mequiabas National High School (Region X)

  • Tulunan National High School (Region XII)

  • Commonwealth High School (NCR)

  • Pilar Rural High School (CAR)

All 16 regional winners will be awarded 20 computer units to create a computer laboratory in their respective schools. The five national finalists will be given trophies and the national winner will receive a plaque and Php 1,200,000 for a new school building.

News Latest News Feed