Press Release
January 30, 2013

Team PNoy, not Team Pinoy, clarifies Drilon

The campaign manager of the administration senatorial candidates, Liberal Party stalwart Senator Franklin M. Drilon, today clarified that the pro-administration senatorial coalition team was named Team PNoy and not Team Pinoy as being reported in the media.

Team PNoy, a coalition that was formed among the Liberal Party-Nacionalista Party-Nationalist People's Coalition and Akbayan last year, is, aside from P-Noy, the most common and preferred reference to President Aquino.

It is the real and only team of the President for the upcoming mid-term elections, stressed Drilon. "These are the people who the President chose to be his team in order to push his reforms for the last three years of his administration. It is clear to him: ito ang kasama ko sa tuwid na daan," he said.

"This is his team and he is asking his people to support his team because he has a number of reforms to push for the last three years of his administration. Kung may tiwala sila kay Presidente, iboboto nila itong kasama ni Presidente." he added.

He also said the coalition's new-found name clearly draws the line between the people who chose to align with the President's reforms and to pursue straight path in carrying out their roles in the Senate and those who are only disguising as "matuwid."

While there are others who are trying to join the "Daang Matuwid", not everyone is sincere, not everyone can be trusted, said Drilon. There are 12 names that PNoy can trust: Rep. Sonny Angara, Bam Aquino, Sen. Alan Cayetano, Sen. Francis Escudero, former Rep. Rissa Hontiveros, Sen. Loren Legarda, former Sen. Jamby Madrigal, former Sen. Ramon Magsaysay, Jr., Sen. Koko Pimentel, Grace Poe, Sen. Antonio Trillanes and former Rep. Cynthia Villar.

Also, the Team PNoy implies that all the candidates running under this team are under the tutelage of the President, ended Drilon.

News Latest News Feed