Press Release
December 7, 2015

Bills renaming schools ok'd

The Senate today approved on third and final reading five bills mandating the renaming of public elementary and high schools in the provinces of Nueva Ecija, La Union and Camiguin.

Senator Pia S. Cayetano, chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture, said that schools as educational institutions are the pillars of the local community and contribute to the identity and character of the community.

"The name of a school celebrates the pride and history of its community by adopting the name of the remarkable members of their town," she said.

Cayetano said that the name of Saverona Elementary School in Barangay Saverona, Talugtog, Nueva Ecija will be renamed in honor of school site donor, Alberto G. Bautista, while San Manuel Norte National High School and Elementary School will be changed to Dr. Manuel T. Cases Sr. National High School and Elementary School, respectively.

Baybay Elementary School in San Manuel Sur will be renamed San Manuel Sur Elementary School in the Municipality of Agoo, La Union, while Mahinog National High School in Mahinog, Camiguin will be renamed Sixto A. Abao National High School.

Cayetano said that the schools have complied with the guidelines laid down by the Department of Education and the National Historical Commission of the Philippines. (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed