Press Release
February 2, 2016

Senate proposes establishment, separation, renaming, conversion of schools

The Senate today approved on third and final reading several bills seeking the establishment, separation, renaming and conversion of a total of 41 public schools nationwide.

Sen. Pia Cayetano, chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture, said the establishment of new schools would ensure that every child would have a place to study and help decongest overcrowded schools.

She said the proposed measures had earned the recommendation of the Department of Education (DepEd). Five national high schools and a technical schools would be established in Pasay City, Sto. Nino, Paranaque City; San Roque, Zamboanga City; Bayog, Zamboanga del Sur; Malangas, Zamboanga Sibugay and Rizal, Occidental Mindoro.

"The establishment of new schools would help decongest existing schools that are currently overcrowded, as well as alleviate the burden for students who would otherwise need to attend schools in farther localities," Cayetano said.

She said 19 high school annexes would be separated into independent schools "to adapt to and better serve the unique educational needs of the community."

The high school annexes are as follows: Tanglagan National Agricultural and Trade High School in Calanasan, Apayao; Ili School of Arts and Trades in Conner, Apayao; Malinao National High School of Arts and Trade in Padada, Davao del Sur; Don Galo National High School in Paranaque City, Metro Manila; Tinglayan National High School of Arts and Trades in Tinglayan, Kalinga; Matti National High School of Arts and Trade in Digos City, Davao del Sur; La Huerta National High School in Paranaque, Metro Manila; Paraiso National High School in Mahayag, Zamboanga del Sur; Quezon Panitian National High School in Malatgao, Quezon; Tulungatong National High School in Tulungatung, Zamboanga City; Malihud National High School in Bataraza, Palawan; Inil U. Taha Memorial National High School in Brooke's Point, Palawan; Tabio National High School in Mankayan, Benguet; Pasonanca National High School in Pasonanca, Zamboanga City; Carugmanan National High School in Banisilan, Cotabato; Tinorongan Nationa High School in Sangay, Camarines Sur; Talifugo Nationa Agricultural and Trade High School in Conner, Apayao; Cupis National Agricultural and Trade High School in Conner, Apayao and Camp 30 National High School in Atok, Benguet.

Cayetano said other proposed bills seek to convert a provincial college into a university and several schools into technical and vocational schools as well as integrated schools that offer complete basic education from Kindergarten to Grade 10 or Kindergarten to Grade 12 for the K-12.

Schools to be converted include the following: Tarlac Agricultural University in Camiling, Tarlac; Irosin North National High School in Irosin, Sorsogon; Payatan National High School in Goa, Camarines Sur; Dupax Del Norte National High School in Dupax del Norte, Nueva Vizcaya; Bentuco National High School in Gubat, Sorsogon; Tarlac Agricultural University in Camiling, Tarlac; Judge Jose de Venecia Sr. in Dagupan, Pangasinan; Juan C. Pena National Techinical-Vocational High School in San Jose, Camarines Sur; Saliok National Technical-Vocational and Skills Training High School in Natonin, Mountain Province; Sadanga National Technical-Vocational and Skills Training High School in Sadanga, Mountain Province and Lakeview Integrated School in Putatan, Muntinlupa, Metro Manila.

Cayetano said the Philippine Public Safety College-Regional Training School 7 would be renamed in honor of the late Interior Secretary Jesse M. Robredo to be known as Camp Jesse M. Robredo Regional Training Center 7, National Police Training Institute, Philippine Public Safety College in Consolacion, Cebu; Kasibu National Agricultural School will be renamed the Nueva Vizcaya Polytechnic Institute in Kasibu, Nueva Vizcaya; Alcantara National Trade School to Romblon National Institute of Technology in Romblon; Juan Lumosad Memoral National High School-Monte Alegre Annex to Monte Alegre National High School in Aurora, Zamboanga City and Milagros School of Fisheries, popularly known as the Masbate School of Fisheries to Masbate Institute of Fisheries and Technology in Milagros, Masbate.

"Schools are pillars of the local community which contributes to the identity and character of the community. The name of a school celebrates the pride and history of its community by adopting the name of the remarkable members of their town," Cayetano added.

Cayetano said all schools had complied with the guidelines laid down by the (DepEd) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), respectively.

The Senate also passed on third and final reading a bill seeking to declare the Balete Pass in Sta. Fe, Nueva Vizcaya as a national shrine to be known as the Balete Pass National Shrine. The shrine was built in honor of the Filipino heroes during the Japanese war.

According to the bill, the administration and the maintenance of the shrine shall be under the Philippine Veterans Affairs Office. The measure also had the approval of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP). (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed