Press Release
August 17, 2016

Commission on Appointments holds session, elects officials, members

The bicameral Commission on Appointments (CA) held its first plenary session for the 17th Congress today, August 17, 2016, at the Senate to elect its new officers and members.

During the hearing, the new leaders and members of the commission took their oath led by Senate President Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III as the ex officio CA chairman, along with San Juan City Representative Ronaldo Zamora as CA vice chairman.

The Senate contingent to the CA includes Senate President Pro-Tempore Franklin Drilon, Senate Minority Leader Ralph Recto, and Senators Alan Peter Cayetano, Juan Miguel "Migz" Zubiri, Francis "Kiko" Pangilinan, Paolo Benigno "Bam" Aquino IV, Gregorio "Gringo" Honasan, Panfilo "Ping" Lacson, Loren Legarda, Vicente "Tito" Sotto III, Joseph Victor "JV" Ejercito, and Emmanuel "Manny" Pacquiao.

The House contingent consists of Zamora, Isabela 1st District Representative Rodolfo Albano III, Davao Oriental 2nd District Representative Joel Mayo Almario, Valenzuela 1st District Representative Wes Gatchalian, A Teacher Partylist Representative Julieta Cortuna, Davao del Norte 2nd District Representative Antonio Floirendo Jr, Cavite 5th District Representative Roy Loyola, Manila 6th District Representative Rosenda Ann "Sandy" Ocampo, Cebu 4th District Representative Benhur Salimbangon, Occidental Mindoro Representative Josephine Ramirez-Sato, Cavite 6th District Representative Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino and Iloilo City Representative Jerry Treñas.

The 25-member body also elected lawyer Hector Villacorta, former chief-of-staff of Senate Majority Leader Vicente "Tito" Sotto III and Philippine Veterans Affairs Office (PVAO) administrator, as the new CA secretary, and Col. Arthur Baybayan (Ret.) from the Philippine Air Force as the new CA Sergeant- At-Arms.

Villacorta and Baybayan will replace outgoing Secretary Arthur Tiu, and outgoing Sergeant-At-Arms Cipriano Querol Jr., respectively.

The CA is an independent constitutional body created under the 1987 Constitution that seeks to act "as a restraint against the abuse of the appointing power of the President by approving only those who are fit and qualified to ensure the efficient and harmonious functioning of the government."

News Latest News Feed