Press Release
September 6, 2016

Senate passes resolution honoring
outstanding teachers, cops, soldiers

The Senate today adopted three solutions honoring the country's top teachers, military personnel, and police officers who were given recognition by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc., (MBFI) for their selfless dedication to service and commitment to excellence.

Senator Cynthia Villar, who introduced Senate Resolution No. 101 in consideration of Senate Resolutions 106 and 121, introduced by Senators Panfilo Lacson and Nancy Binay, said that the search for the country's outstanding police officers was an expression of gratitude for the efforts of the law enforcers in maintaining the peace and order situation in the country, "even when they are oftentimes exposed to great adversity".

The search for the Country's Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) is an annual program undertaken by MBFI, Rotary Club of New Manila East, and PSBank that gives recognition to the men and women in the Philippine National Police (PNP) who have excelled in protecting and serving the people by exemplifying professionalism, competence, dedication, and integrity.

Sen. Panfilo Lacson, for his part, said the search for COPS would help change the negative public image that the PNP has acquired and would inspire the public to work hand in hand with the policemen in preventing and solving crime.

The Senate also adopted Senate Resolution 82, introduced by Sen. Joel Villanueva, in consideration of Senate Resolutions 108, 116, and 120, introduced by Senators Loren Legarda, Paolo Benigno "Bam" Aquino IV, and Nancy Binay respectively, as a fitting tribute to the country's outstanding teachers "for their continued quest to educate and help the youth build a better future".

MBFI's Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT) has honored 346 outstanding teachers in the country for the last 32 years. Out of the 346 awardees, the Senate has recognized 140 from 2002 to 2015.

Meanwhile, Senate Resolution 102 and 122, introduced by Senators Gregorio Honasan and Nancy Binay respectively, joined MBFI in recognizing the heroism and dedication of the men and women of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

The Metrobank Foundation, established by Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979, has since promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through programs such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), The Outstanding Philippine Soldier (TOPS), the Country's Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS) and the College Scholarship Program (CSP), among others.

The winners of this year's SOT are Winona Diola of Muntinlupa City; Rujealyn Cancino of Lingayen, Pangasinan; Josephine Chonie Obseñares of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; Arnol Rosales of Naujan, Oriental Mindoro; Dr. Roy Basa of Bacolod City, Negros Occidental; Nelson Agoyaoy of Caloocan City; Ma. Regaele Olarte of Muntinlupa City; Dr. Katherine Faith Bustos of Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya, Dr. Ernelea Cao of Quezon City, and Mark Anthony Torres of Iligan City.

The TOPS awardees are Lieutenant Colonel Eliglen Villaflor, Technical Sergeants Danilo Ramos and Bernardo Tacbas from the Philippine Army; Lieutenant Wilfredo Manalang, Jr., Staff Sergeant Albert Eleazar, and Intelligence Specialist Chief Fernando Parcon from the Philippine Navy; Lieutenant Colonel Oliver Bañaria, Master Sergeant Abel Idusma, Technical Sergeant Andersen Avellana from the Philippine Air Force and Colonel Jocelyn Turla from the Technical Administrative Services.

COPS awardees, meanwhile, include Police Chief Inspector Ryan Manongdo, Police Superintendent Jemuel Siason, Police Senior Superintendent Susan Jalla; Police Superintendent Mario Rariza, Jr., Police Officer 2 Fatima Peñones Lanuza, Police Officer 3 Nida Gregas, Senior Police Officer 1 Mhay Rubio, Senior Police Officer 2 Jeffrey Ojao, Senior Police Officer 3 Hamidhan Tebbeng, and Senior Police Officer 3 Ezrael Lantingan. (Yvonne A. Almirañez)

News Latest News Feed