Press Release
May 28, 2018

11 bills establishing, converting, separating, integrating and renaming public schools approved

The Senate approved today on third and final reading 11 bills seeking to establish, convert, separate and rename several high schools and colleges nationwide.

Approved were the establishment of national high schools in Barangay Pan-ay Dako, Municipality of Clarin, Misamis Occidental; Barangay Bignay, Valenzuela City; Barangay Tiblac, Municipality of Ambuguio, Nueva Vizcaya and Brangay 184, Zone 19, Maricaban, Pasay Cut.

Senator Francis "Chiz" Escudero, chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture, said the establishment of national high schools in the various barangays would make secondary education more accessible to local residents.

Escudero said the bill would help address the problems faced by students in the areas, "who have to spend hours walking daily to attend classes and those parents who can barely afford the expenses of sending their children to the nearest high school."

"The establishment of secondary schools in the barangays will provide better access and opportunity for the students in the area to secure a high school education by reducing the distance, time and transportation expenses for our constituents," he said.

The Senate also approved the separation and conversion of several national high schools in the municipalities of Sta. Maria and Jose Abad Santos, Davao Occidental and in the municipality of Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Lanao Del Norte.

Escudero said that the government was mandated to "protect and promote the right of all citizens to quality education at all levels," and to take "appropriate steps to make quality education accessible to all and to establish, maintain, and support a complete, adequate, and integrated system of education relevant to the needs of the people and society." Colleges to be integrated, and renamed include: the Don Honorio VenturaTechnological State University (DHVTSU) in Bacolor, Pampanga; Cebu City Mountain Extension Campus in Cebu City and Maasin City College in Leyte.

Escudero said the bills to rename and integrate state universities in different regions, sought to "expand its curricular offerings to include additional courses and programs in liberal arts, medical and allied medical fields which are responsive to the demands of the society and industries."

"The bills once approved, will allow accommodation of more deserving students and will improve the quality of tertiary educations in their service areas," he said. (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed