Press Release
April 28, 2020


Concerned agencies must step up efforts to distribute the cash assistance to thousands of public utility vehicle (PUV) drivers reeling from the halt of their livelihood due to the lockdown, Sen. Grace Poe said.

"Ang ating mga driver, walang bonus, walang benepisyo, walang work-from-home. Kung wala sila sa kalsada, walang kita. Sa panahon ng lockdown, talagang sa gobyerno sila aasa," she said.

"We need a catch-up plan to get the cash aid to the hands of our PUV drivers. They need immediate relief from the government to keep both the disease and hunger at bay," Poe stressed.

Based on the April 27 report to Congress on the implementation of the Bayanihan To Heal As One Act, less than half of the estimated beneficiaries in the transport sector received the emergency cash assistance of between P5,000 to P8,000.

The Social Amelioration Program listed 90,000 beneficiaries from the PUV and Transport Network Vehicle Service in the National Capital Region. Yet, as of April 24, 2020, only 40,418 drivers have been serviced so far, equivalent to P323,344,000.

Poe issued the call as several transport groups reached out to her about their appeal to government to immediately release the cash aid, as many of them have yet to receive any.

"Drivers are among the hardworking people who bring us where we need to go. Immobilized by the quarantine, government should see to it that they have the means so their families can get through the days they are compelled to stay at home," she said.

The transport groups include: National Confederation of Tricycle and Transport Operators and Drivers Association of the Phils. led by National President Ariel Lim; Federation of Jeepney Operators and Drivers Association of the Phils. led by National President Zenaida 'Zeny' Maranan; Confederation of Passenger Transport in Central Luzon led by Chairman Danilo Yumol; Alliance of Transport Operators and Drivers Association of the Phils. led by National President Melencio 'Boy' Vargas; Samahan ng mga Tsuper at Operator na Tutol sa PhaseOut Vice-Chairman Chris Mira; Mandaluyong Filcab Transport Federation led by Overall Chairman Danny Ocampo; Samahan ng Tsuper at Operators Genuine Organization led by National President Jun Magno; Alliance of Concerned Transport Organization led by National President Efren De Luna; Pinagkaisang Samahan ng Transport Operators Nationwide led by National President Mody Floranda; Federation of Ayala Center Transport Terminal Inc. led by National Chairman Lino Villaraza; Liga ng Transportasyon at Operators ng Pilipinas led by National Chairman Orlando Marquez; Unified Transport Alliance of the Philippines led by National President Exequiel Longares; Pangkalahatang Sanggunian Manila Suburbs Drivers Association led by Roberto 'Obet' Martin; and Laban TNVS Federation led by National President Leonardo 'Jun' De Leon.

News Latest News Feed