Republic of the Philippines

Congress of the Philippines

Metro Manila

Fighteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-sixth day of July, two thousand twenty-one.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11814]

AN ACT RENAMING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE AS THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAWATA AND ITS BARANGAY SAWATA AS BARANGAY POBLACION, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9265, ENTITLED "AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO IN THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Municipality of San Isidro in the Province of Davao del Norte is hereby renamed as the Municipality of Sawata.

SEC. 2. The present Barangay Sawata referred to in Republic Act No. 9265, entitled "An Act Creating the Municipality of San Isidro in the Province of Davao del Norte", is hereby renamed as Barangay Poblacion.

SEC. 3. The change of name of the subject municipality and barangay shall be effective upon ratification by the majority of the votes cast by qualified voters in separate plebiscites to be conducted and supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in the present (1) Municipality of San Isidro, Province of Davao del Norte; and (2) Barangay Sawata, Municipality of San Isidro, Province of Davao del Norte.

The expenses for both plebiscites shall be borne by the Municipality of San Isidro, Province of Davao del Norte.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

(June late

Approved.

President of the Senate

LORD ALLANJAY Q. VELASCO

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was passed by the House of Representatives on August 3, 2021, amended by the Senate of the Philippines on January 31, 2022, and which amendments were concurred in by the House of Representatives on February 2, 2022.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA Secretary of the Senate MARK JANNRO L. MENDOZA Secretary General Nouse of Representatives

Approved:

without the signature of the President, in accordance with Article VI.

RODRIGO ROA DUTERTE

President of the Philippines