Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Hourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-eighth day of July, two thousand eight.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9508]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR THE REAPPORTIONMENT OF THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF AGUSAN DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Legislative Districts. — The lone legislative district of the Province of Agusan del Sur is hereby reapportioned to commence in the next national elections after the effectivity of this Act. Henceforth, the City of Bayugan and the municipalities of Sibagat, Prosperidad, Talacogon, San Luis and Esperanza shall comprise the first legislative district while the municipalities of San Francisco, Rosario, Bunawan, Trento, Sta. Josefa, Veruela, Loreto and La Paz shall comprise the second legislative district.

- SEC. 2. Rules and Regulations. The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.
- SEC. 3. Repealing Clause. All other laws, rules and regulations inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.
- SEC. 4. Effectivity. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

MANNY VILLAR
President of the Senate

PROSPERO C. NOGRALES Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on December 18, 2007 and July 29, 2008, respectively.

EMMA LIRIG-REYES
Secretary of the Senate

MARILAN B. BARUA-Y AT Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved: 001 2 0 2008

GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

President of the Philippines



