## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-eighth day of July, two thousand eight.

## [REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9645]

AN ACT DECLARING JULY 27 OF EVERY YEAR AS A SPECIAL NATIONAL WORKING HOLIDAY IN RECOGNITION OF THE FOUNDING ANNIVERSARY OF THE IGLESIA NI CRISTO IN THE PHILIPPINES, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTION 26, CHAPTER 7 OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 292, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE OF 1987, AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Short Title. - This Act shall be known and cited as the "Commemoration of the Founding Anniversary of Iglesia ni Cristo Act".

SEC. 2. Declaration of Policy. – It is the declared policy of the State to observe the founding anniversary of the Iglesia ni Cristo every 27<sup>th</sup> of July in recognition of its exemplary feat of leading its members towards spiritual enlightenment and good citizenry.

- SEC. 3. National Holiday. July 27 of every year is hereby declared as a special national working holiday in commemoration of the founding anniversary of the Iglesia ni Cristo in the Philippines.
- SEC. 4. Repealing Clause. Any law, presidential decree or issuance, executive order, letter of instruction, administrative order, rule or regulation contrary to or inconsistent with the provisions of this Act is hereby repealed, modified or amended accordingly.
- SEC. 5. Effectivity Clause. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

President of the Senate President of the House of Representatives

This Act which is a consolidation of House Bill No. 5410 and Senate Bill No. 3281 was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on June 3, 2009.

EMMA LIRIO-REYES Secretary of the Senate

Approved. :

MARILYN B. BARUA-YAY
Secretary General
House of Representatives

Approved: JUN 1 2 2009

GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

President of the Philippines



