Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

Resolution No. 33

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SOLDIERS OF THE 14TH INFANTRY BATTALION DEPLOYED TO GUIUAN, EASTERN SAMAR IN RECOGNITION OF THEIR INCREDIBLE ACTS OF BRAVERY IN THE WAKE OF TYPHOON YOLANDA

WHEREAS, the Senate recognizes the heroic acts of individuals who personify Filipino altruism and emulate the spirit of *"bayanihan"*;

WHEREAS, many lives were spared from the rage of typhoon *Yolanda* bacause of soldiers who selflessly risk their own safety to preserve the life of others; WHEREAS, ten soldiers of the 14th Infantry Battalion in Samar namely:

- 1. Cpl Emerson P. Mendoza
- 2. Pfc Jomar Jay Radin
- 3. Pfc Michael G. Punzalan
- 4. Pfc Marlon F. Sarino
- 5. Pfc Elvin M. Hugo
- 6. Pfc Jay R. Obrar
- 7. Pfc Rando I. Soria
- 8. Pfc Richard D. Salanguste
- 9. Pfc Reynante D. Abuda
- 10. Pfc Dalmacio S. Bondocan

were deployed to Guiuan, Eastern Samar, the first town to be hit by typhoon Yolanda, to render Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster response;

WHEREAS, the above-named soldiers rendered service beyond the call of duty by courageously risking their own lives in securing the safety of the people of Guiuan, helping them in the search and rescue of their loved ones, providing security to relief operations and traveling to far flung areas to bring relief goods to people in need;

WHEREAS, the altruism and heroic acts of individuals in providing life-saving assistance to the victims of typhoon *Yolanda* deserve the tribute and recognition of all Filipinos: Now, therefore, be it

 $\mathbf{2}$

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines commend Cpl Emerson P. Mendoza, Pfc Jomar Jay Radin, Pfc Michael G. Punzalan, Pfc Marlon F. Sarino, Pfc Elvin M. Hugo, Pfc Jay R. Obrar, Pfc Rando I. Soria, Pfc Richard D. Salanguste, Pfc Reynante D. Abuda and Pfc Dalmacio S. Bondocan in recognition of their incredible acts of bravery in the wake of typhoon Yolanda.

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 19, 2014.

OSCAR YABES Secretary of the Senate

0