į

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Sixteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 41

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2014 RECIPIENTS OF THE SOROPTIMIST UNSUNG WOMEN HEROES AWARDS FOR THEIR TIRELESS DEDICATION AND SERVICE IN UPLIFTING THE WELFARE OF DISADVANTAGED WOMEN IN THEIR COMMUNITIES

WHEREAS, Article II Section 14 of the 1987 Constitution states that the State recognizes the role of women in nationbuilding, and shall ensure the fundamental equality of women and men before the law;

WHEREAS, organized by the Soroptimist International of the Philippines Region (A Foundation), Inc. and first awarded in 2009, the Unsung Women Heroes Awards aims to recognize women who take an active role in improving the lives of their fellow Filipinos through their work at the grassroots level; WHEREAS, recognized by the Soroptimist International of the Philippines, for their dynamic and pro-active work in the field of education, financial literacy, good governance and gender equality, among others, and for showing extraordinary effort and tireless commitment in improving the lives of women in their respective communities, the recipients of the 2014 Unsung Women Heroes Awards were, Elsie M. Cabral, Rosalia A. Cervantes, Sylvia L. de Leon, Olivia P. Lucas, Emily DC. Lundang, Marilou P. Portacio, Adelina S. San Miguel, Fe L. Tolentino, Julieta B. Torres, and Crispina S. Zafra;

WHEREAS, for actively participating in community work and inspiring others to do the same, it is only proper that these awardees be recognized for making use of existing resources at their disposal in order to serve the marginalized members of our society: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, as it is hereby resolved, To commend the 2014 recipients of the Soroptimist Unsung Women Heroes Awards for their tirelesss dedication and service in uplifting the welfare of women in their communities.

Adopted,

FRANKLIN M. DRILON President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2014.

OSCAR G YABES Secretary of the Senate

2