P. S. Res. Nos. 854, 855, 857, 861, 862, 863, 864, 865, 866, 867, 870, 871, 873, 876, 877 and 866

> Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

> > Senate

Pasay City

Seventeenth Congress

Third Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 127

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING ALL THE FILIPINO MEDALISTS IN THE 18TH ASIAN GAMES HELD IN JAKARTA-PALEMBANG, INDONESIA ON AUGUST 18 TO SEPTEMBER 2, 2018

WHEREAS, the Asian Games, which began in 1951, is the world's second biggest international multi-sport event held every four (4) years and participated in by numerous countries all over Asia;

WHEREAS, in the 18th iteration of the Asian Games held on 18 August 2018 to 2 September 2018, at Jakarta-Palembang, Indonesia, the Philippines sent 272 national athletes and 63 officials: WHEREAS, the country garnered twenty-one (21) medals - four (4) gold medals, two (2) silver medals, and fifteen (15) bronze medals - and finished 19th out of the 37 participating countries;

WHEREAS, the four (4) gold medals were successfully brought home by Hidilyn Diaz for Weightlifting Women's (53 kg), Yuka Saso for Golf Women's Individual, Bianca Pagdanganan, Lois Kaye Go, and Yuka Saso for Golf Women's Team, and Margielyn Didal for Skateboard Women's Street;

WHEREAS, the two (2) silver medals were contributed by Rogen Ladon for Boxing Men's Fly (52kg), and Kiyomi Watanabe for Judo Women's (63kg);

WHEREAS, the fifteen (15) bronze medals were due to the efforts of the following:

- 1 Bianca Pagdanganan for Golf Women's Individual;
- 2. Carlo Paalam for Boxing Men's Light Flyweight (49kg);
- 3. Eumir Felix Marcial for Boxing Men's Middleweight (75kg);
- 4. Almohaidib Abad for Pencak Silat Men's Single;
- 5. Dines Dumaan for Pencak Silat Men's Class B (50-55kg);
- 6. Jefferson Rhey Loon for Pencak Silat Men's Class D (60-65kg);
- 7. Cherry May Regalado for Pencak Silat Women's Single;
- 8. Dustin Jacob Mella, Jeordan Dominguez, and Rodolfo Reyes Jr. for Taekwondo Men's Team Poomsae;
- 9. Juvenile Crisostomo, Rinna Babanto, and Janna Dominique Oliva for Taekwondo, Women's Team Poomsae:
- 10. Pauline Louise Lopez for Taekwondo Women's (57kg);
- 11. Agatha Chrystenzen Wong for Wushu, Women's Taijiquan and Taijijian All-Round;
- 12. Divine Wally for Wushu Women's Sanda (52kg);
- 13. Daniel Patrick Caluag for Cycling BMX Men's;
- Margarita Ochoa for Ju-Jitsu, Newasa Womens' (49kg); and
- 15. Tsukii Junna for Karate, Women's (50kg).

WHEREAS, for their outstanding contribution to Philippine sports, these athletes will be receiving cash incentives by virtue of RA 10699, otherwise known as the "National Athletes and Coaches Benefits and Incentives Act":

WHEREAS, this year's performance was far better compared to the 2014 Asian Games held in Incheon, South Korea where we finished 22nd and were only able to bring home fifteen (15) medals – eleven (11) bronze medals, three (3) silver medals, and one (1) gold medal;

WHEREAS, this recent achievement will serve as the right stepping stone for the country to continue to excel in international multi-sports events and will boost the morale of our national athletes as they go on to participate in succeeding competitions here and abroad;

WHEREAS, this will also inspire and motivate our young athletes to persevere in becoming better as they carry their hopes of representing the country in the future;

WHEREAS, the outstanding achievements of Filipino athletes in this recent prestigious international sporting events organized by the Olympic Council of Asia truly deserve the commendation of the Senate for bringing pride, honor, glory and joy to the country: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, To commend and congratulate, as it hereby commends and congratulates, all the Filipino Medalists in the 18th Asian Games held in Jakarta-Palembang, Indonesia, on August 18 to September 2, 2018, namely:

GOLD MEDALISTS

- 1. Hidilyn Diaz, Weightlifting, Women's (53kg);
- 2. Yuka Saso, Golf, Women's Individual;
- 3. Yuka Saso, Bianca Pagdanganan, Lois Kaye Go, Golf Women's Team; and
- 4. Margielyn Didal, Roller Sports, Women's Street Skateboard

SILVER MEDALISTS

- 1. Kiyomi Watanabe, Judo, Women's (63kg);
- 2. Rogen Ladon, Boxing, Men's Flyweight (52kg)

BRONZE MEDALISTS

- 1. Bianca Pagdanganan for Golf Women's Individual;
- 2. Carlo Paalam for Boxing Men's Light Flyweight (49kg);
- 3. Eumir Felix Marcial for Boxing Men's Middleweight (75kg):
- 4. Almohaidib Abad for Pencak Silat Men's Single;
- 5. Dines Dumaan for Pencak Silat Men's Class B (50-55kg):
- 6. Jefferson Rhey Loon for Pencak Silat Men's Class (60-65kg);
- Cherry May Regalado for Pencak Silat Women's Single;
- 8. Dustin Jacob Mella, Jeordan Dominguez, and Rodolfo Reyes Jr. for Taekwondo Men's Team Poomsae;
- Juvenile Crisostomo, Rinna Babanto, and Janna Dominique Oliva for Taekwondo, Women's Team Poomsae;
- 10. Pauline Louise Lopez for Taekwondo Women's (57kg);
- 11. Agatha Chrystenzen Wong for Wushu, Women's Taijiquan and Taijijian All-Round;
- 12. Divine Wally for Wushu Women's Sanda (52kg);
- 13. Daniel Patrick Caluag for Cycling BMX Men's;
- 14. Margarita Ochoa for Ju-Jitsu, Newasa Womens' (49kg); and
- 15. Tsukii Junna for Karate, Women's (50kg).

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 11, 2018.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

X lulin

Secretary of the Senate