P. S. Res. Nos. 167, 172 and 177

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines **Senate**

Pasay City

Seventeenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 25

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING PERLAS PILIPINAS FOR WINNING GOLD IN THE 2016 SEABA WOMEN'S CHAMPIONSHIP IN MALACCA CITY IN MALAYSIA

WHEREAS, Perlas Pilipinas won the gold medal in the recently concluded Southeast Asia Basketball Association Women's Championship held in Malacca City, Malaysia by beating the host team and former champion Malaysia, 77-73;

WHEREAS, Perlas Pilipinas showcased supreme dominance in the 9th SEABA Championship with convincing final scores, even leading by more than 100 points against Laos, 179-32, 134-56 against Vietnam, 69-43 against Singapore, and, 72-56 against Indonesia;

WHEREAS, the SEABA Championship for Women is a basketball tournament for womens's national teams organized by the Southeast Asia Basketball Association, a sub-zone of the FIBA Asia, which also serves as a qualifier for different zone and subpoena competitions such as FIBA Asia Championship for Women and Southeast Asian Games:

WHEREAS, the team composed of Amby Almazan, Allana Lim, Afril Bernardino, Jack Animan, Shelly Gupilan, Raiza Palmera-Dy, Cindy Resultay, Camille Sambile, Ara Abaca, Chack Cabinbin, Andrea Tongco, along with head coach Patrick Aquino and assistant coaches Julie Amos and Aries Dimaunahan, ended the six-year SEABA title drought for the country;

WHEREAS, despite lacking in attention and support as compared to the men's national team, Perlas Pilipinas, with the backing of its patron Dioceldo Sy, continues to bring pride and honor to the country for their remarkable showing in international competitions: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, To commend and congratulate Perlas Pilipinas for winning gold in the 2016 SEABA Women's Championship and making every Filipino proud.

Adopted,

AQUILINO "KOKO" PIMENTEL III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on October 4, 2016.

LUTGARDO B. BARBO

Secretary of the Senate