Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Seventeenth Congress

First Regular Session

**Resolution No. 7** 

## RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING, COMMENDING AND EXTENDING WELL-WISHES TO THE TWELVE (12) ATHLETES REPRESENTING THE PHILIPPINES IN VARIOUS EVENTS AT THE 2016 SUMMER OLYMPIC GAMES IN RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL, FROM AUGUST 5 TO 21, 2016

WHEREAS, twelve (12) Filipino athletes, namely, swimmers Jasmine Alkhaldi and Jessie Lacuna; table tennis paddler Ian Lariba; golfer Miguel Luis Tabuena; long jumper Marestella Sunang; hurdler Eric Cray; marathon runner Mary Joy Tabal; weightlifters Hidilyn Diaz and Nestor Colonia; boxers Rogen Ladon and Charly Suarez; and taekwondo jin Kirstie Alora will represent the Philippines at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from August 5 to 21, 2016;

WHEREAS, this delegation's participation will be the 21<sup>st</sup> instance the Philippines participates in the Summer Olympics since it first sent athletes during the 1924 Olympics in Paris, France wherein it was the first Southeast Asian country to compete and win a medal;

WHEREAS, the Summer Olympics is a globally recognized multi-sport event, organized by the International Olympic Committee and held every four years;

WHEREAS, swimmers Jasmine Alkhaldi and Jessie Lacuna have already represented the country in various sporting events: Alkhaldi holds the Philippine women's record in the 200-, 100- and 50-meter freestyle and the 50- and 100meter butterfly events, while Lacuna has a total of fifty-one (51) gold medals with thirty-five (35) national and sixteen (16) international titles, and registered a personal best of one minute, fifty point seventy-three seconds (1:50.73) during the 2015 Southeast Asian Games in Singapore;

WHEREAS, table tennis paddler Ian Lariba, the country's flag bearer for the 2016 Rio Olympics opening ceremony, represented the country in various international table tennis competitions including the 2014 World Table Tennis Team Championships in Japan where she led the Philippines to a first-place victory;

WHEREAS, golfer Miguel Luis Tabuena, winner of the 2015 Philippine Open and was named by the Philippine Sportswriters Association as one of the "Sportsmen of the Year" for 2016, has been playing the Asian Tour since 2011;

WHEREAS, long jumper Marestella Sunang and runners Eric Cray and Mary Joy Tabal will be competing in their respective categories. Ranked 28<sup>th</sup> in the world, Sunang won gold in July 2016 at the Kazakhstan Open, setting a new Philippine record of 6.72 meters. Sunang participated in the 2008 Beijing and 2012 London Olympics. Cray set a new national record in the 400-meter hurdles event while winning gold at the 2015 Southeast Asian Games, setting a time of forty-nine point forty (49.40) seconds. Meanwhile, Tabal won silver in the 2015 Southeast Asian Games and represented the Philippines in the 2016 Boston Marathon;

WHEREAS, weightlifters Hidilyn Diaz and Nestor Colonia's participation will be the first time the Philippines will send a pair of lifters since the 1988 Seoul Olympics. In November 2015, during the International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) World Weightlifting Championship, Colonia won a bronze medal in the clean-and-jerk 56 kg. division, while Diaz won three bronze medals in the snatch, clean-and-jerk, and total categories in the women's 53 kg. division, becoming the first Filipina to win a medal in the competition. The Rio Olympics will be the third consecutive time Diaz participates in the games, after the 2008 Beijing Olympics and 2012 London Olympics; WHEREAS, boxers Rogen Ladon, winner of various international tournaments such as the Asia Amateur Boxing Championships and Southeast Asian Games, and Charly Suarez, who won via technical knockout (TKO) in the semifinals of the Asian-Oceanic Olympic Qualifiers in China, will compete in their respective categories;

WHEREAS, taekwondo jin Kirstie Alora is the first Filipino jin to make it to the Olympics since Marie Antoniette Rivero and Tshomlee Go represented the country in the 2008 Beijing Olympics;

WHEREAS, the Philippines, winner of a total of nine (9) Olympic medals so far, has not won an Olympic medal since Mansueto "Onyok" Velasco won a silver medal in the light flyweight boxing competition in the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta, United States of America: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate of the Philippines recognizes, commends and extends its well-wishes to the twelve (12) athletes-swimmers Jasmine Alkhaldi and Jessie Lacuna; table tennis paddler Ian Lariba; golfer Miguel Luis Tabuena; long jumper Marestella Sunang and runners Eric Cray and Mary Joy Tabal; weightlifters Hidilyn Diaz and Nestor Colonia; boxers Rogen Ladon and Charly Suarez; and taekwondo jin Kirstie Alora at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from August 5 to 21, 2016.

Adopted,

AQUILINÒ "KOKO" PIMENTEL III President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 3, 2016.

nang

LUTGARDO B. BARBO Secretary of the Senate

0