P. S. Res. Nos. 839, 840, 854, and 863

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senute

Pasay City

Fighteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 115

RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE 19 PHILIPPINE ATHLETE DELEGATES TO THE 2020 TOKYO OLYMPICS THAT COMPRISED THE WINNINGEST PHILIPPINE OLYMPIC CONTINGENT SINCE JOINING THE OLYMPICS IN 1924

WHEREAS, nineteen (19) athletes represented the Philippines across twelve (12) sports in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, ten (10) of whom are Filipinas, and eighteen (18) of whom competed in the Olympics for the first time;

WHEREAS, Ms. Hidilyn Diaz and Ms. Elreen Ann Ando represented the Philippines in weightlifting; Mr. Eumir Felix Marcial, Mr. Carlo Paalam, Ms. Nesthy Petecio, and Ms. Irish Magno in boxing; Mr. Juvic Pagunsan, Ms. Bianca Pagdanganan, and Ms. Yuka Saso in golf; Ms. Remedy Rule and Mr. Luke Gebbie in swimming; Mr. Ernest John Obiena in pole vault; Mr. Cris Nievarez in rowing; Mr. Carlos Edriel Yulo in artistic gymnastics; Mr. Kurt Bryan Barbosa in taekwondo; Ms. Margielyn Didal in skateboarding; Mr. Jayson Valdez in shooting; Ms. Kristina Marie Knott in athletics; and Ms. Kiyomi Watanabe in judo;

WHEREAS, Ms. Hidilyn Diaz bagged the first Olympic gold medal for the Philippines as she conquered the 55-kilogram category for weightlifting in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics last July 26, 2021 at the Tokyo International Forum, finishing with 126-kilogram in the clean and jerk and 224-kilogram total;

WHEREAS, Ms. Nesthy Petecio became the first Filipina to win an Olympic boxing medal when she took home the Olympic silver medal in the women's featherweight boxing division last August 3, 2021 at the Kokugikan Arena;

WHEREAS, Mr. Carlo Paalam secured the Philippines' second Olympic silver medal at the Tokyo Olympics in the men's flyweight boxing division last August 7, 2021 at the Kokugikan Arena;

WHEREAS, Mr. Eumir Felix Marcial wrapped up his campaign by winning the Olympics bronze medal in the men's middleweight boxing division last August 5, 2021 at the Kokugikan Arena;

WHEREAS, Mr. Carlos Edriel Yulo finished at 4th place in the artistic gymnastics men's vault final at Ariake Gymnastics Center on August 2, 2021 with a score of 14.716:

WHEREAS, Mr. Elreen Ann Ando gave an impressive performance after getting a total lift of 222 kilograms in the women's 64-kilogram weightlifting competition last July 27, 2021 at the Tokyo International Forum, placing 7th overall;

WHEREAS, Ms. Margielyn Didal skated her way at 7th place in the skateboarding women's street event at the Ariake Urban Sports Park on July 26, 2021;

WHEREAS, Ms. Irish Magno showed her formidable boxing skills in the women's flyweight boxing division last July 29, 2021 at the Kokugikan Arena, finishing at 9th place;

WHEREAS, Ms. Yuka Saso finished strong at 9th place in golf when she notched four birdies and an eagle in the fourth round of the women's individual stroke play last August 7, 2021 at the Kasumigaseki Country Club with a total of 10-under-par 274;

WHEREAS, Mr. Ernest John Obiena, the only Asian to qualify for the medal round, placed 11th overall in the men's pole vault final at the Olympic Stadium on August 3, 2021. Keeping his personal best is at 5.87 meters and his 6th place at the pole vault world rankings;

WHEREAS, Mr. Kurt Bryan Barbosa ranked 11th overall as he competed in the taekwondo men's 58-kilogram at the Makuhari Messe Hall on July 24, 2021;

WHEREAS, Ms. Remedy Rule capped her Olympics campaign in the women's 200 meters butterfly semi-final at the Tokyo Aquatics Center on July 28, 2021, placing 15th overall with a time of 2:12:89;

WHEREAS, Ms. Kiyome Watanabe, the first Filipina judoka to qualify in the Olympics, competed in the judo women's 63-kilogram elimination round at the Nippon Budokan on July 27, 2021, finishing at 17th place;

WHEREAS, Mr. Cris Nievarez ranked 23rd overall in the rowing men's single sculls event at the Sea Forest Waterway on July 30, 2021, covering the 2000-m course with a time of 7:21:28:

WHEREAS, Ms. Kristina Marie Knott finished 37th overall in the women's 200 meter dash at the National Stadium on August 2, 2021, clocking in 23.80 seconds;

WHEREAS, Mr. Luke Gebbie wrapped up his stint in the men's 50 meters freestyle heats on July 30, 2021, at the Tokyo Aquatic Center, finishing 41st overall, and clocked in a new Philippine record of 49.64 seconds in the 100m freestyle event;

WHEREAS, Ms. Bianca Pagdanganan finished 43rd in women's golf at the Kasumigaseki Country Club on August 7, 2021 with a total of 1-over-par 285 points;

WHEREAS, Mr. Jayson Valdez landed at 44th in the men's 10m air rifle qualification at the Asaka Shooting Range on July 25, 2021 with a total of 612.6 points;

WHEREAS, Mr. Juvic Pagunsan ended his campaign at 55th place in the men's individual stroke play on August 1, 2021 at the Kasumigaseki Golf and Country Club, with a total of 285 points;

WHEREAS, the Philippine team took home one gold, two silvers, and one bronze, making it the top performing Southeast Asian country in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics;

WHEREAS, the impressive and record-breaking feats achieved by the delegates, which can be considered as the Philippines' best Olympics stint in history, show that Filipino athletes are exceptional and world-class: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, To recognize and commend the 19 Philippine Athlete Delegates for their valiant and outstanding performances in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, and extends its warmest gratitude for bringing pride and glory to all Filipino citizens.

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2021.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

Whillown:

Secretary of the Senate

0