Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Fighteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION NO. 30

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE TEN OUTSTANDING YOUNG MEN (TOYM) OF THE PHILIPPINES AWARDEES FOR 2019

WHEREAS, the Ten Outstanding Young Men of the Philippines Award organized by the Philippine Jaycees (JCI) and supported by the TOYM Foundation and the Gerry Roxas Foundation, gives national recognition to young men and women whose dedication to their profession or vocation has resulted in significant contributions to Philippine society;

WHEREAS, the list of TOYM awardees includes the likes of Ninoy Aquino, Flash Elorde, Gary Valenciano, Ryan

3

Cayabyab, Juan Flavier, Maria Ressa, Jessica Soho, Sharon Cuneta Pangilinan and Manuel Villar;

WHEREAS, incumbent Senators Richard Gordon (1982), Emmanuel Pacquiao (2004), Sherwin Gatchalian (2011), Sonny Angara (2010) and Risa Hontiveros (2001) are also part of the list of previous awardees;

WHEREAS, nominees to the TOYM Award go through a very demanding two-step selection process where each nominee must pass through a screening committee and then the Board of Judges;

WHEREAS, each awardee is expected to continue their efforts and advocacies for the betterment of the Philippine society;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate proudly joins JCI, the TOYM Foundation and the Gerry Roxas Foundation in lauding the 2019 awardees and echoing their aspirations for a better country: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate, To congratulate and commend the 2019 TOYM Awardees, namely:

1) Reynaldo S. Abellana (Arts and Humanities Music) – for dedicating his time and talent to develop young people to become world-class instrumentalists, as well as developing appreciation for classical music among the youth.

2) Ziaur-Rahman A. Adiong (Government Service) – for serving our Muslim brothers and sisters while enjoying the trust and confidence of the people and fellow public servants and government leaders, and ensuring the passage of relevant and progressive legislation in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

3) Alfonso Tomas Araullo (Broadcast Journalism) – for shedding light on the most pressing issues facing our country today, founding FYT Media which has steadily grown over the past year, and who has recently partnered with international news organization *Internews* to promote development journalism in the Philippines and provide training for local journalists.

4) Casiano H. Choresca Jr. (Fisheries and Agriculture) – for his dedication to the pursuit of knowledge in the field of aquaculture and fisheries biotechnology, and for facilitating the conduct of National Fisheries Biotechnology Symposium as an avenue for latest trends in biotechnology and exchange of researches through research symposia/ competition and paper technical presentations.

5) Dino Carlo Chua (Business-Tourism) - for continuing to serve the unserved and underserved while discovering the relatively unexplored islands in the Philippines. He is the owner of an airline business, the SkyJet Airlines, which is the first boutique airline in the country which indubitably contributed to the lives of the locals in those remote island destinations in the country.

6) Glenn F. Fernandez (Youth participation in disaster risk reduction) – for promoting scientific and evidence-based DRR at different levels of society. He was invited to be the youngest section editor of the *Progress in Disaster Science Journal* published by Elsevier, one of the world's major providers of scientific information.

7) Gerardo G. Francisco Jr. (Arts and Humanities Dance) – for fighting against stereotypes to bequeath to the nation a significant legacy in dance and choreography, and has choreographed over 30 thought-provoking pieces for Ballet Manila, many of which have been performed abroad.

8) Marc Paul J. Lopez (Medicine, colon and rectal surgery) – for his commitment to learning and becoming one of the very few Filipino surgeons trained to perform Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy (HIPEC). Most of his published works and poster presentations were about the benefits of this new modality on late-stage colon, rectal and peritoneal surface malignancies.

9) Aisa A. Mejino (Science and Green Technology) – for bringing innovation and improving the lives of our indigenous peoples. She is a social entrepreneur who made SALt, her social enterprise which developed a metal-air based lighting technology, a technology that would change the lives of many underprivileged communities not just in the country but throughout the world.

10) Alfredo Paolo D. Vargas (Public Servant) – for his steadfastness in the realm of politics. He was a two-time best actor-turned politician, who authored people-centric ordinances aimed to benefit the less-fortunate, such as the establishment of the Quezon City Persons with Disability Affairs Office, the prohibition of the demand of deposits or advance payments in all Quezon City hospitals and clinics, and the detention of patients due to non-payment of hospital bills and medical expenses.

Adopted,

4

TO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on December 16, 2019.

Wullary .

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA Secretary of the Senate

0