## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

## Senate

Pasay City

Fighteenth Congress

First Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 31

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING CHRISTINE HALLASGO FOR WINNING A GOLD MEDAL IN THE WOMEN'S MARATHON OF THE 30<sup>TH</sup> SOUTHEAST ASIAN GAMES HELD AT THE NEW CLARK CITY IN CAPAS, TARLAC, ON 6 DECEMBER 2019

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing honor and glory to the country by becoming champions in international sporting competitions;

WHEREAS, Christine Hallasgo brought honor to the country after emerging victorious in the women's marathon of the 30<sup>th</sup> Southeast Asian Games at the New Clark City

in Capas, Tarlac on 6 December 2019, adding to the country's increasing gold medal harvest in said sporting meet:

WHEREAS, the Southeast Asian Games, otherwise known as the SEA Games, is a biennial multi-sport event involving participants from the current 11 countries of Southeast Asia and is under the regulation of the Southeast Asian Games Federation with supervision by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Olympic Council of Asia;

WHEREAS, hailing from Malaybalay City in Bukidnon, Christine Hallasgo dominated the 42-kilometer race after clocking in 2 hours, 56 minutes and 56 seconds, beating the country's reigning marathon queen, Mary Joy Tabal, who settled for silver;

WHEREAS, by delivering another gold medal for the country in the 30<sup>th</sup> Southeast Asian Games, Christine Hallasgo deserves to be recognized and commended for bringing pride and inspiration to the Filipino people and for showing to the world the unrelenting spirit of Filipino excellence: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate, To congratulate and commend Christine Hallasgo for winning a gold medal in the women's marathon of the 30<sup>th</sup> Southeast Asian Games held at the New Clark City in Capas, Tarlac, on 6 December 2019.

Adopted,

VICENTE C. SOTTO III

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on December 17, 2019.

MYRA MARIE D. VILLARICA

mularu.

Secretary of the Senate