Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 114

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE TWENTY-SIX (26) AWARDEES OF THE 16^{TH} ANI NG DANGAL AWARDS

WHEREAS, the Ani ng Dangal Awards is a state recognition bestowed by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) to celebrate and honor the highest international achievements of Filipino artists in the categories of Architecture, Cinema, Dance, Drama, Literature, Music, Visual Arts, Folk Arts, and Broadcast Arts;

WHEREAS, during the 16th Ani ng Dangal Awards held on 20 February 2024 at the Metropolitan Theater, Ermita, Manila, twenty-six (26) Filipino artists were conferred awards and given stylized Sarimanok trophies sculpted by Abdulmari Imao, a National Artist for Visual Arts. The Sarimanok trophy represents the Filipino artists' achievements in the international arena;

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Philippines joins the National Commission for Culture and the Arts in recognizing the remarkable efforts made by the internationally recognized awardees of the 16th Ani ng Dangal Awards to promote global recognition of Filipino excellence: Now, therefore, be it:

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the twenty-six (26) awardees of the 16th Ani ng Dangal Awards, namely:

- 1. The LPPA Design Group/LP Pariñas & Associates, who won the 5-star Best Residential High Rise Architecture at the International Property Awards 2022-2023 in the Asia Pacific on June 2022;
- 2. Dr. Jesus C. Insilada, Screenwriter of the Best Film "Sa Paglupad ka Banog (The Flight of Banog)" at the 13th Kota Kinabalu International Film Festival in Malaysia on September 2023;
- 3. Sam Manacsa, Best Director for "Cross My Heart and Hope to Die" for the Southeast Asian Short Film Competition at the 34th Singapore International Film Festival in 2023;
- 4. "The River that Never Ends" directed by JT Trinidad, for Best Asian Short Film at the 34th Singapore International Film Festival in 2023;
- 5. "Hito" directed by Stephen Lopez, winner of the Blencong Award at the 18th Jogja-NETPAC Asian Film Festival (JAFF) in Yogyakarta, Indonesia and Best Film at the 20th Vienna Shorts-International Short Film Festival in Vienna, Austria on June 2023;
- 6. "Bold Eagle" directed by Whammy Alcazaren, for Best Short Film Prize at the 27th Fantasia International Film Festival (IFF) in Montreal, Canada on July 2023;
- 7. "When You Left Me on That Boulevard" directed by Kayla Abuda Galang, for Short Film Grand Jury Prize at the 2023 Sundance Film Festival in Utah, United States of America (USA);

- 8. Did it Hurt?" directed by Nathan Carreon Lim, for Best Fiction Short Film at the 53rd Tampere Film Festival in Tampere, Finland on March 2023;
- 9. "Blue Room" directed by Ma-an Asuncion-Dagñalan, Best Foreign Film at the 19th edition of LA Femme International Film Festival (LAFIFF) in Los Angeles, California on October 2023;
- 10. Kristel de Catalina, Professional Pole Champion and Overall Champion at the Viva Circus Awards 2023 in Malaysia on July 2023;
- 11. Legit Status, MegaCrew Division Gold Medalist and World Champion at the 2023 World Hip Hop Dance Championship in USA on August 2023;
- 12. La Salle Filipiniana Dance Company, First Place in different categories, namely: Folk Dance Group, Folk Dance Formation, and Folk Dance Duo at the International Dance Organization World Dance Festival 2023 in South Korea on August 2023;
- 13. Folk Jumpers, Monster Crew Division Champions at the 2023 World Supremacy Battlegrounds in Australia on August 2023;
- 14. Rhea R. Marquez, Gold Medalist in Combi Latin Class 2 and Combi Freestyle Class 2 at the 2023 World Para Dance Sport Championships in Genoa, Italy on November 2023;
- 15. Julius Jun M. Obero, Gold Medalist in Single Conventional Men Class 2, Duo Freestyle Class 2, Duo Latin Class 2, Combi Latin Class 2, and Combi Freestyle Class 2 at the 2023 World Para Dance Championships in Genoa, Italy on November 2023;
- 16. Edelyn P. De Asis, Gold Medalist in Women's Freestyle Class 2 and Latin Class 2, Gold Medalist Solo in Junior Women Conventional Class 1 & 2, and Gold Medalist Duo in Duo Freestyle Class 2 at the Genoa 2023 World Para Dance Sport Championships in Genoa, Italy on November 2023;

- 17. HQ Dance Collective, Gold Medalist in Adult Division at the World Hip Hop Dance Championship 2023 in Phoenix, Arizona on August 2023;
- 18. Halili-Cruz School of Ballet dancers, with various awards in different ballet categories, namely: Princess Arvinah Caballero, First Place in the 15 under Hip Hop Solo Category; Paula Mariel Evangelio, First Place in the 17 under Hip Hop Solo Category; Katherine Marie Furugganan, Alexa Denise Vicencio, and Gia Simone Garin, First Place under Jazz Trio category; and Phoemela Angela Esluzar and Angela Marie Lopez, First Place in Open Lyrical Duo category at the Nuvo Dance Convention 2023 in Utah, USA and 2023 Asia Pacific Dance Competition;
- 19. Jannina Eliana "Janna" G. Peña, First Prize at the Big Arts Classical Music Scholarship in USA on April 2022;
- 20. De La Salle University Chorale, Grand Prix at the Busan Chorale Festival and Competition in South Korea on October 2023;
- 21. Jose Emmanuel D. Aquino, Best Conductor at the Busan Chorale Festival and Competition in South Korea on October 2023;
- 22. Young Voices of the Philippines, Champion at the 12th Golden Gate International Choral Festival in San Francisco, USA on July 2023;
- 23. Kammerchor Manila, Pavarotti Trophy in the Choir of the World Competition at Llangollen International Musical Eisteddfod in United Kingdom on July 2023 and the Absolute Winner at the 69th International Choral Contest Habaneras and Polyphony Torrevieja 2023 in Spain on July 2023;
- 24. Anthony Villanueva, Best Conductor at the 69th International Choral Contest Habaneras and Polyphony Torrevieja 2023 in Spain on July 2023;

- 25. Albert Emir B. Reyes, First Prize Winner (1er Prix) in the 18 to 25 category at the 30th Edition of the International Fine Arts Competition 2023 in France held from July 2022 to January 2023; and
- 26. Domcar Calinawan Lagto, Grand Winner at the HUAWEI XMAGE Awards in China in 2023.

Adopted,

JUAN MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 29, 2024.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.
Secretary of the Senate