P. S. Res. Nos. 1128, 1129, 1132, 1140, 1141, 1144, and 1152

## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 134

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINE DELEGATION, THE PHILIPPINE OLYMPIC COMMITTEE, AND THE PHILIPPINE SPORTS COMMISSION FOR A HISTORIC AND SUCCESSFUL CAMPAIGN AT THE SUMMER OLYMPIC GAMES HELD FROM JULY 26 TO AUGUST 11, 2024, IN PARIS, FRANCE

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized Filipinos whose outstanding achievements in prestigious international competitions brought immense pride and honor to the country;

WHEREAS, in the recently conducted 2024 Summer Olympic Games in Paris, France, the Philippine Olympic delegation achieved a landmark performance that marked the country's most successful campaign since joining the quadrennial event 100 years ago in 1924;

WHEREAS, the Filipino athletes who represented the country, under the leadership of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) and the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), are as follows:

- 1. Carlos Yulo (Artistic Gymnastics/Men's Individual All-Around);
- 2. Aleah Finnegan (Artistic Gymnastics/Women's Individual All-Around);
- 3. Levi Jung-Ruivivar (Artistic Gymnastics/Women's Individual All-Around);
- 4. Emma Malabuyo (Artistic Gymnastics/Women's Individual All-Around);
  - 5. Eumir Marcial (Boxing/Men's 80kg);
  - 6. Nesthy Petecio (Boxing/Women's 57kg);
  - 7. Aira Villegas (Boxing/Women's 50kg);
  - 8. Carlo Paalam (Boxing/Men's 57kg);
  - 9. Hergie Bacyadan (Boxing/Women's 75kg);
  - 10. Ernest John "EJ" Obiena (Athletics/Men's Pole Vault);
  - 11. Lauren Hoffman (Athletics/Women's 400m Hurdles);
- 12. John Cabang Tolentino (Athletics/Men's 110m Hurdles);
  - 13. Bianca Pagdanganan (Golf/Women's Individual);
  - 14. Dottie Ardina (Golf/Women's Individual);

- 15. John Ceniza (Weightlifting/Men's 61kg);
- 16. Elreen Ando (Weightlifting/Women's 59kg);
- 17. Vanessa Sarno (Weightlifting/Women's 71kg);
- 18. Kayla Sanchez (Swimming/Women's 100m Freestyle);
- 19. Jarod Hatch (Swimming/Men's 100m Butterfly);
- 20. Joanie Delgaco (Rowing/Women's Single Sculls);
- 21. Samantha Catantan (Fencing/Women's Foil); and
- 22. Kiyomi Watanabe (Judo/Women's 63kg);

WHEREAS, the delegation finished at 37th place in the Olympic medal tally board, the country's strongest showing at the Olympic Games, on the back of four medals, to wit: Carlos Yulo's two gold medals, Nesthy Petecio's bronze medal, and Aira Villegas' bronze medal — a mark fit for the centennial anniversary of the nation's participation in the world's premier sports gathering;

WHEREAS, the outstanding performances and accomplishments of the Filipino athletes, including those who narrowly missed podium finishes such as EJ Obiena and Bianca Pagdanganan, once again showcased the Philippines' growing competitiveness in the world of sports, served as an inspiration to the Filipino people, and brought immense pride and honor to the nation;

WHEREAS, this year's performance followed an equally successful campaign in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics where our country's tally ended with one gold, two silver, and one bronze, and has again proven the Filipino athletes' dedication, skill, and perseverance in representing the country on the global stage;

WHEREAS, the success of the Philippine delegation to the 2024 Paris Olympics gave the Filipino people a hopeful outlook for the future of Philippine sports and inspired a new

generation of Filipinos to pursue sporting excellence, to bring further glory to the nation;

WHEREAS, the unwavering support, commitment, and leadership of the Philippine Olympic Committee and the Philippine Sports Commission, along with the untiring dedication and services of the coaches, trainers, and sponsors, and the wholehearted trust and support of the Filipino people, have been instrumental in achieving this historic milestone in Philippines sports: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the Philippine delegation, the Philippine Olympic Committee, and the Philippine Sports Commission for a historic and successful campaign at the Summer Olympic Games held from July 26 to August 11, 2024, in Paris, France.

Adopted,

4

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 14, 2024.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.
Secretary of the Senate