P. S. Res. No. 491

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

**Resolution No. 210** 

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE UNIVERSITY OF SAN AGUSTIN - COLLEGE OF LAW MOOT COURT AND DEBATE TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE AND REMARKABLE VICTORIES IN MULTIPLE INTERNATIONAL MOOT COURT COMPETITIONS

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized outstanding Filipinos who bring honor and glory to the nation through their remarkable feats and prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, the University of San Agustin - College of Law (USA-COL) Moot Court and Debate Team won the championship in the Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition, where they also received individual awards, such as Best Oralist in the Final Round and 2<sup>nd</sup> Best Speaker in the Preliminary Round;

WHEREAS, the Team also emerged as champions in the National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law, where they received team awards for Best Memorial - Prosecution and Best Memorial - Defense, as well as individual awards, such as the Justice Leonor Ines Luciano Memorial Award, Best Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds, and Second Best Mooter in the Preliminary Rounds;

۰.

Ċ

Ζ.

WHEREAS, the Team also participated in the Monroe E Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition and were declared 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-Up in the Asia-Pacific Rounds, where they received team awards for 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up Best Memorial, and individual awards for 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up Best Oralist and Best Oralist in the Finals;

WHEREAS, the members of the USA-COL Moot Court and Debate Team are the following, with their awards:

Competition: National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law

Placement: Champion (National Rounds)

Team Awards:

1) Best Memorial - Prosecution

2) Best Memorial - Defense

3) 2<sup>nd</sup> Runner-up, IHL Role Play challenge

Individual Awards:

1) Justice Leonor Ines Luciano Memorial Award: Ancel D'Cunha

2) Best Mooter, Preliminary Rounds: Ancel D'Cunha

3) Second Best Mooter, Preliminary Rounds: Ervin Gedmaire Caro

Venue for International Rounds: Hong Kong Red Cross Headquarters, West Kowloon, Hong Kong Team Members:

- 1) Ervin Gedmaire Caro
- 2) Ancel D'Cunha
- 3) Julienne Dela Pieza
- 4) Marie Dominique Lavalle
- 5) Mary Andrea Managaytay

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes Student Coach: Jeff Earl D. Nuñez

Competition: Monroe E Price International Media Law Moot Court Competition

Placement: 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up (Asia-Pacific Rounds)

Team Awards: 1) 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up best memorial

Individual Awards:

- 1) 1<sup>st</sup> Runner-up Best Oralist: Yzabel Layson
- 2) Best Oralist in the Finals: Yzabel Layson

Venue for International Rounds: Oxford, United Kingdom (Virtual)

Team Members:

- 1) Yzabel Layson
- 2) Luis Miguel Tirador
- 3) Jeff Earl Nuñez
- 4) Jann Lessandro Lira
- 5) Lord Jemarie Ramos

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes

Competition: Stetson International Environmental Moot Court Competition

Placement: Champion

Individual Awards:

1) Best Oralist (Final Round): Marco Giorgione Dava

2) 2<sup>nd</sup> Best Speaker (Preliminary Round): Blessie Marie Cawaling

Venue for International Rounds: Florida, United States of America

Team Members:

1) Blessie Marie Cawaling

2) Marco Giorgione Dava

3) Quemel Charles Malte

4) Rency Joseph Ponce de Leon

5) Raphael Descartes Roldan

Faculty Adviser/Coach: Atty. Anfred Panes Student Coach: Jeff Earl D. Nuñez

WHEREAS, the exceptional performance of the USA COL Moot Court and Debate Team is a testament to their dedication. and a source of inspiration for aspiring lawyers: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the University of San Agustin -College of Law Moot Court and Debate Team for their outstanding performance and remarkable victories in multiple international moot court competitions.

Resolved, further, To recognize the Team's achievements as a testament to the excellence and brilliance of Filipino law students, and as a source of national pride and inspiration for the youth of the country.

Adopted,

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO President of the Senate

4

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 25, 2024.

BENATO N. BAN TUG Jr. Secretary of the Senate

0

والمعادية والالمعاد المعاولات