Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

**Resolution No. 220** 

# RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE PHILIPPINE TEAM FOR THEIR IMPRESSIVE PERFORMANCE DURING THE ASIAN PARA GAMES HELD ON OCTOBER 22 TO 28, 2023 IN HANGZHOU, CHINA

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized outstanding Filipinos who bring honor and glory to the nation through their remarkable feats and prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, the Asian Para Games is a multi-sport event for Asian athletes with disabilities. The latest edition was participated by more than 3,000 athletes from 44 countries, competing in 22 sports;

WHEREAS, Team Philippines' 72 athletes competed in archery, athletics, badminton, boccia, chess, cycling, judo, powerlifting, swimming, table tennis, taekwondo, and wheelchair basketball; WHEREAS, Team Philippines bagged an impressive medal haul of 19 - 10 gold, 4 silver, and 5 bronze. The country finished ninth overall – its best performance since the event was founded in 2010. The medallists are:

## GOLD

## Swimming

1. Ernie Gawilan (Men's 400m freestyle S7)

#### Athletics

2. Jerrold Mangliwan (Men's 400m T52)

### Chess

- 3. Menandro Redor (Men's individual standard VI B2/B3)
- 4. Cheyzer Mendoza (Women's individual standard P1)
- 5. Darrý Bernardo, Menandro Redor and Arman Subaste (Men's team standard VI - B2/B3)
- 6. Henry Roger Lopez (Men's individual rapid P1)
- 7. Darry Bernardo (Men's individual rapid VI B2/B3)
- 8. Cheyzer Mendoza (Women's individual rapid P1)
- 9. Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom and Sander Severino (Men's team rapid P1)
- 10. Darry Bernardo, Menandro Redor and Arman Subaste (Men's team rapid VI - B2/B3)

#### SILVER

#### Athletics

11. Jerrold Mangliwan (Men's 100m T52)

### Chess

- 12. Henry Roger Lopez (Men's individual standard P1)
- 13. Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom and
- Sander Severino (Men's team standard P1)
- 14. Cheryl Angot, Cheyzer Mendoza and Jean-Lee Nacita (Women's team rapid P1)

#### BRONZE

Swimming

15. Ernie Gawilan (Men's 200m individual medley SM7) 16 & 17. Gary Bejino (Men's 100m freestyle S6 & Men's 400m freestyle S6)

Chess

- 18. Cheryl Angot, Cheyzer Mendoza and Jean-Lee Nacita (Women's team standard P1)
- 19. Sander Severino (Men's individual standard P1)

WHEREAS, the feat of our para athletes in the 4<sup>th</sup> Asian Para Games befits Senate recognition for the inspiration it brings to the next generation of athletes: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate the Philippine Team for their impressive performance during the Asian Para Games held on October 22 to 28, 2023 in Hangzhou, China.

Adopted,

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on November 5, 2024.

