Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 245

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE PHILIPPINE PARA DANCE SPORT TEAM FOR WINNING MULTIPLE MEDALS AT THE DEARBORN 2024 PARA DANCE SPORT USA OPEN

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized outstanding Filipinos who bring honor and glory to the nation through their remarkable feats and prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Para Dance Sport Team represented the country at the Dearborn 2024 Para Dance Sport USA Open held on August 10 and 11, 2024, at the Ford Community & Performing Arts Center in Dearborn, Michigan, United States;

WHEREAS, the Filipino para dancers competed against some of the world's best wheelchair ballroom dancers from over 20 countries and emerged victorious, winning a total of 19 medals: nine (9) golds, six (6) silvers, and four (4) bronzes;

WHEREAS, the team's performance in the combi duos and singles events showcased their remarkable talent, discipline, and commitment to the sport, as they excelled in various dance routines, including Freestyle, Standard: Waltz, Tango, Viennese Waltz, Slow Foxtrot, Quick Step, and Latin: Samba, Cha-Cha-Cha, Rumba, Paso Doble, and Jive:

WHEREAS, the Philippine Para Dance Sport Team is composed of Ariel Recosana, Anne Santos, Justine Elejorde, Joey Mags, Hanz Basan, and Edelyn de Asis, along with their dedicated coaches Roque Marquez and Tristan Ducay;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Para Dance Sport Team's victory is a testament to the indomitable Filipino spirit, proving that physical challenges are no barrier to excellence and inspiring countless Filipinos to pursue their dreams: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the Philippine Para Dance Sport Team for their outstanding performance and remarkable achievements at the Dearborn 2024 Para Dance Sport USA Open.

Adopted,

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 3, 2024.

REMATO N. BANTUG Jr Secretary of the Senate