P. S. Res. No. 758

Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION NO. 89

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE DE LA SALLE SANTIAGO ZOBEL STRINGS ENSEMBLE FOR WINNING THE GOLD AWARD AT THE 2023 BRATISLAVA YOUTH MUSICAL FESTIVAL COMPETITION AND 4TH PLACE AT THE 15TH SUMMA CUM LAUDE INTERNATIONAL YOUTH MUSIC FESTIVAL HELD IN EUROPE

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has on several occasions paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their commendable performances that bring pride and joy to the country, especially in the field of music; WHEREAS, the De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ) Strings Ensemble competed in two international youth music festivals held in Europe last July 2023 in which they won multiple awards;

WHEREAS, last July 1, the group received an outstanding rating and landed 4th place at the 15th Summa Cum Laude (SCL) International Youth Music Festival which took place at the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in Vienna, Austria;

WHEREAS, the SCL International Youth Music Festival is a world-renowned international celebration for young musicians that features different musical ensembles from Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Italy, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Taipei, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, and the USA;

WHEREAS, last July 7, the DLSZ Strings also won the Gold Award at the 2023 Bratislava Youth Music Festival Competition at the Slovak Radio Concert Hall in Slovakia;

WHEREAS, the DLSZ Strings is composed of the following high school students who are enrolled in the Special Music program to develop their musical skills:

Aquino, Carlos Gabriel Ginete Arceo, Juan Jaime Javier Alvero Arcillas, Justine Cleo Guerrero Ascalon, Armina Sophia Culata Ascalon, Cesar Gervasio Culata Bauyon, Elizabeth Selibio Calara, Himaya Almogino Catabian, Nathan Benedict Ocampo Corpuz, Adeline Renee Davot Cruz, Benica Sophia Ferrer Espiritu, Sage Martina Arguelles Galang, Jared Kenneth Caracta Go, Frances Karol Llanes Grageda, Cara Sabine Duran llano, Gael Azure Maramag Infante, Charles Sebastian Velarde Javier. Meithzan Medina

Lirio, Daniela Ongpin Mindanao. John Dave Galicia Mindanao, Juliene Daiz Galicia Paris. Andre Habulan Pioquinto, Kirsten Antoinette Merilleno Pulgar, Mayo Iñigo Madrid Reves, Joaquin Gabriel David Santos, Ma. Josefa Carmela Gan Tamayo, Antonio Jesus Corral Tomas, Maxine Antoinette Corong Timbang, Luis Peter Emmanuel De Leon Torres, Ysabella Sage Malonzo Valero, Anna Kristina De Leon Vito, Annika Marie Cruz Gonzalez, Juan Franco Peñalba Calubayan, Richard Fernandez Natividad, Paul Benjamin Rodriguez;

WHEREAS, the group was headed by Strings Conductor Mr. Leopoldo Sumera Jr., accompanied by Strings Teacher Ms. Shelly Isaga, Music Unit Head Mr. Daryl Galicia, and the Cultural Affairs Office Head Ms. Lynette Feliciano;

WHEREAS, the DLSZ Strings' participation in these international events not only highlights the hard work and dedication of the students but also demonstrates Filipino worldclass talent and musical excellence: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend and congratulate the De La Salle Santiago Zobel Strings Ensemble for winning the gold award at the 2023 Bratislava Youth Musical Festival Competition and 4th place at the 15th Summa Cum Laude International Youth Music Festival in Europe.

Adopted,

MIGUEL F. ZUBIRI

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 18, 2023.

RENATO N. BAN TUG Jr. Secretary of the Senate 0

4