| FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF TH | EPUBLIC) | | The state of the s |
|---------------------------|-------------------|----------|--|
| Third Regular Session |) | 9 | JUL -9 P1:43 |
| | ENATE | | , |
| P.S. Res | . No. <u>1167</u> | MEC. VEY | |

Introduced by Senator Manuel "Lito" M. Lapid

RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE SMART TAEKWONDO TEAM FOR REAPING SILVER MEDALS IN THE SENIOR AND JUNIOR KYORUGI (SPARRING) DIVISIONS OF THE 9TH ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHEAST ASIAN NATIONS (ASEAN) TAEKWONDO FEDERATION CHAMPIONSHIPS HELD IN HO CHI MINH CITY, VIETNAM ON 4-7 JUNE 2009.

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has in several occasions paid tribute to outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing home pride and glory to the country by becoming champions in international sporting competitions;

WHEREAS, Filipino taekwondo jins of the Smart Taekwondo Team made the country proud when they reaped silver medals in various weight divisions in both junior and senior kyorugi (sparring) divisions of the 9th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Taekwondo Federation Championships in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam on 4-7 June 2009;

WHEREAS, by winning this international tournament, the Smart Taekwondo Team has made our country proud and has shown to the world the spirit of Filipino competitiveness and excellence;

WHEREAS, this outstanding performance by our Filipino taekwondo jins deserves to be commended for the honor and recognition they have brought to our country.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate to congratulate and commend the Smart Taekwondo Team for reaping silver medals in the senior and junior kyorugi (sparring) divisions of the 9th Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Taekwondo Federation Championships held in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam on 4-7 June 2009, namely:

SENIOR DIVISION

- 1.) Nicole Mapilisan (flyweight)
- 2.) Samuel Thomas Harper Morrison (lightweight)
- 3.) Jose Anthony Soriano (middleweight)
- 4.) Crizobelle Gayle Vargas (finweight)

- 5.) Jade Zafra (bantamweight)
- 6.) Paul Romero (bantamweight)

JUNIOR DIVISION

- 1.) Kirk Barbosa (flyweight)
- 2.) Wilson Dumo (featherweight)
- 3.) Jude Solis (welterweight)
- 4.) Iyra April Tindoc (bantamweight)

Adopted,

MANUEL "LITO" M. LAPID Senator